We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3002 South Harbor Boulevard, Santa Ana, CA 92704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Ana
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Let me start with the pros:

-Nice room decor.
-Excellent, polite service at the front desk from Jared.

Now the cons:

-Too much noise from busy Harbor Blvd...not relaxing to listen to traffic all day and night.
-TV placed to the SIDE of the bed, rather than at the foot. Very awkward angle on the neck!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the building OPPOSITE of Harbor Blvd, unless of course you enjoy liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback, and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service. Due to your reviews such as yours we are able to better understand the functionality of the rooms.

We hope to have you back at the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
12
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I really like this hotel. The front desk staff are very knowledgable about directions and made me feel like family. The rooms and hotel have recently been renovated and everything in the room was new. I liked having a balcony.They don't have a free breakfast but the restaurant serves the best breakfast it is better than getting the same boring buffet breakfast. It would be nice if they would have coffee in the lobby. The hotel is 5 minutes from the John Wayne airport and 10 minutes from the Huntington Beach Pier. I stayed here 12 days for business and definitely will go back.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our newly renovated rooms and were able to enjoy the Bistro.

We cannot wait to have you back! Hopefully next time it will be a leisurely trip instead of all business :)

Thank you!
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,186 reviews 1,186 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 309 cities Reviews in 309 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was convenient to our morning appointment in Tustin. It was a good choice as the hotel was off the beaten path a little but easy to find with GPS. It had an attractive appearance outside and a nice décor in the lobby area. The grounds were also very attractive. The check-in experience was easy and efficient. The rooms were well maintained, comfortable and spacious. The bed was comfortable and enabled a good night's sleep. The WiFi worked well during our stay. The Bistro in the morning was a nice option for breakfast as the prices were reasonable with some good, healthy choices. The checkout was also very efficient. The rates were pretty good for the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely happy to hear that not only was our close proximity to your appointment ideal, but that our staff and amenities met your needs and expectations so well.

Your lovely review is very kind and appreciated. We very much hope to see you back the next time you find yourself in the area.

Thank you!
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

this is a great hotel if you're going to a concert at The Observatory. it's cross the street so no need to worry about parking or driving afterwards. However note, that there's not much around as far as nightlife.

The hotel has a nice lounge with beer, wine and some cocktails..

the rooms have been re-done and are more modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your review. We are so pleased that the proximity to the Observatory worked so well for your stay.

I'm also very happy you were able to enjoy our Bistro at night.

We would love to have you back if you ever plan on seeing another show or are visiting the area again!

Sincerely,
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

It is tough to review this hotel. It is in the process of a remodel and so it might be a completely different property in a couple of months.

The lobby area has been remodeled to the new Courtyard standard. So it is nice and modern. The rooms however are being torn apart. My room was fine. Standard Courtyard.

One complaint is that the room's main lights are motion sensored. So they will turn off after a while. I'm all for going green but they are not very sensitive so I had them turning off even when I was in the room.

The pool area looked nice. It is outside and has a nice feel to it. The workout area was pretty poor but I was told it was going to be expanded.

Overall not a bad place, but be prepared for construction. Should be looking good when it is done.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I'm very excited to say that we are now completely finished with our room renovation you noticed was going on during your stay.

Your feedback on the lights shutting off while you were in the room is very helpful to ensure everything is in perfectly working condition.

I am so glad you were able to enjoy our pool area and hopefully we can have you back very soon to enjoy our finished product which will soon include the spa area being turned in to a large workout room as you mentioned.

Thank you!
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The updated lobby and bar area are very nice.

The rooms still need updating but will look very nice when they are done. As someone else said, the towels were fairly worn looking and rough but they soak up water and that is their job afterall.

We slept fairly well but beware, this seems to be a popular place for families going to Disneyland and there was quite a bit of noise starting around 6:30am. We had the pleasure (note sarcasm) of listening to a husband and wife have a discussion outside our door and frankly it sounded like they were standing in our room, weird accoustics I guess. We could also hear showers turning on and off from other rooms and the folks above walking around their room was quite loud. I think next time I will ask for a room on the second floor.

We were really looking forward to using the jacuzzi only to find it was out of service (empty of water actually....).

We bought food from the on-site restaurant (2 salads, an appetizer and 2 beers $42). I suggest if you want a beer or two you stop by a liquor store and get a whole six pack rather then pay the cost of a six-pack for one beer at the hotel.

The front desk staff was very nice and helpful though.

Room Tip: Obvious stuff, get a courtyard view if you can, parking lots and cars are no fun to look at. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate you taking a moment to review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our public areas and that the staff was able to make you feel welcome during your stay.

I am sorry to hear that there was excess noise in the guest room. Feedback such as yours allows us to make improvements necessary for a flawless stay. I assure you this will be something we look in to. I also want to apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to use the spa during your stay. We have plans for repurposing that space and would love to have you back to enjoy that renewed area and our refreshed guest rooms next time you are in town.

Thank you,
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this through Priceline and I have used them about 10 times in past and have always been happy with the hotel. Well not this time, traveled with just my daughter & I and did not feel safe at all. They make the check in area look fresh and up to date, but once you leave that area boy does it change. The pictures on there website are not true to the room either. Beds are very low to the ground and not comfortable, towels felt rough to touch , like they were well used. I booked and paid for 3 nights at this place & checked out after 12 hrs......

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay. We are in the process of a room renovation right now that will provide us with brand new beds and a completely refreshed style that compliments our lobby and Bistro. If you are back in the area I would love to be able to show you our improved rooms and hopefully have you stay again.

Sincerely,
Mikaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro

Address: 3002 South Harbor Boulevard, Santa Ana, CA 92704
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro Hotel Santa Ana
Courtyard Santa Ana
Santa Ana Courtyard
Santa Ana Marriott
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.