We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, nothing really outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hutton Centre Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Business Package
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Schererville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent, nothing really outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I was kind of iffy on giving this hotel a 3 or 4 rating. I went with a 4 because while I don't have anything to discount it further, I just wasn't impressed.
Our room had two queen beds and was an adequate size for the one night we stayed before a trip to Disneyland. Our room was clean. The front desk staff was friendly. When we arrived the gentleman at the front desk only had one not-so-warm cookie so he gave us vouchers for two more when we checked out. Upon check-out the person at the front desk gave us four cookies. My husband was pleased.
I felt like our room was just okay. It seemed small. The bathroom had a hard to move pocket door. The parking was $11 (not mentioned to us, just added to our bill) and the lot was pretty dark late at night (had to venture back to the car for a phone charger). There's some sort of apartment/condo building nearby that had some sort of loud party going at night that made me less than happy to wander through the parking lot alone.
But, our room was clean. The bed was comfy. The toiletries weren’t as extensive as other Doubletrees I’ve stayed at (or as pictured by another guest), but the bathroom was adequate.
I wouldn't avoid this hotel in the future like other places I've stayed in the area. Other hotels tend to be larger and in busier areas. This Doubletree Club was off the beaten bath in a business park so it wasn’t only filled with families. The parking, while dark, wasn’t a mile away from our room (like the Hilton SNA or the Hyatt in Garden Grove).
It was really just okay. We did get a good deal through a third-party booking site so that did help.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkPfeifer, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Greetings from the DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport!

I wanted to thank you for surveying your overall experience at the DoubleTree
Club by Hilton Orange County Airport . Here at the Doubletree Club we encourage
our guests to survey our products, services, and amenities. I apologize that you had a bad experience at our property and would love to discuss this personally.

Please contact me directly so I may address your issues and relay your experience with the appropriate hotel management.

Sincerely,

David Arriola
Director of Revenue Management & Social Media Marketing
Doubletree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
david.arriola2@hilton.com
714-751-2400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    165
    75
    33
    17
See reviews for
116
64
48
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattletraveler1965
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have been flying to Santa Ana once a month for about two years to attend a study program. I always enjoyed hotel service. They provide free shuttle from the airport and give you a cookie or a bottle of water when you arrive. The rooms are spacious and clean. Excellent air conditioner and they recently updated common areas. You can work out in their small but nicely equipped fitness room or walk around the artificial lake. There are many choices to eat nearby. Cleaning ladies are hard working and always smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Well we stayed here two nights 4th of July weekend. First off the room we reserved wasn't ready at check-in. Then an hour later they say they have to put us in another room because the one we booked someone smoked in it and wouldn't be ready because they had to shampoo the carpet. A real inconvience we had to store our belongings in another family memebers room. The rooms are small and the air conditioning is loud. the refrigerator was also in a cabinet which at night was loud also. This hotel is for business people. The morning hot cooked breakfast and the Cookies were it's best feautures!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I had planned on staying here for five nights however after arriving in a nice entrance and updated lobby things went progressively bogus!
The elevators are slow and some of the floor indicator lights are not working.The hallways are really dark old and uninviting..When we opened the door to our room we knew instantly that this is going to be a bogus stay at this hotel.The door to the bathroom (its a pocket style) looked like it had been patched and semi quasi painted numerous times, and it didn't close against its jam...Nice!
The rooms have a had a update in the past few years but someone forgot to come back and finish it all..Some newly updated area's alongside old outdated..Hmmmm..
The A/C unit is a struggler to keep that room cool but yet sounds like its working hard?
We looked at the pool area and it looked uninviting so we vetoed it.
That said,this place does have quite redeeming features..The on site restaurant has great food and the people are quite friendly working in it and the outside eating area is very inviting and nicely appointed with a man made lake right there to enjoy.
Our hotel shuttle driver was very friendly and picked us up almost immediately after calling him and gave us some valuable tips on the area and the check in staff were really friendly and efficient.
You can walk or jog around the lake area and feed the birds...Its really nice in that aspect..This location is fantastic but the hotel inside is not near as nice as its surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The DoubleTree Club Hotel in Santa Ana is a perfectly adequate but relatively unremarkable hotel. Its best features are its location and the rates and upgrades available when guests book through HiltonHHonors.com.

The DoubleTree Club Hotel is a basic business hotel. It’s a bit smaller than many similar properties in the Hilton family, it’s well kept and attractive, and the staff members are polite and pleasant enough. The on-site restaurant and lounge are convenient, as are the fitness and business centers, but “adequate” is probably the highest praise they deserve.

The DoubleTree Club Hotel is close to John Wayne Airport in Orange County, making it a relatively short drive to Disneyland and other Southland attractions, but not right in the middle of the craziness. That’s primarily why it appealed to me for a last-minute trip to the Magic Kingdom.

The living area of the Balboa Suite
However, while the property’s location is one of its positive attributes, it is also a negative. Though close to a couple of major freeways (I-405 and the 55), it’s in an area that is primarily office and industrial space. That means the weekends can be pretty quiet, and it also means there aren’t many restaurants nearby. There is the usual retinue of fast food and strip mall restaurants but the choices are relatively few.

Balboa Suite Sleeping Room

The AAA rate on HiltonHHonors.com was quite good, and the benefits of booking Hilton properties through the Hilton web site often include very reasonable upgrades. Depending on the level one has obtained in the HiltonHHonors program, upgrades can be requested for a very nominal reasonable – or NO – fee. My Diamond status snared me a “corner room” -- The Balboa Suite, Room 633 - for no additional cost! As you can see from the pictures, the “corner room” was more accurately described as a “suite”.

If you’re able to take advantage of upgrades, I definitely recommend looking into the DoubleTree Club Hotel if you need to be in Orange County. Otherwise, I don’t believe you’ll be disappointed. But don’t expect to be overly impressed either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have used hotwire.com several times to book a room at this hotel. At $49/night it is a steal if you just want a place to sleep.

The rooms are nice and clean and check-in is fast and efficient. The last time I stayed there I messed up and arrived a day earlier than my hotwire reservation called for. The manager was nice enough to switch my reservation around although the reservation issue was clearly my own fault.

The hotel is located in a large office park, which empties out at night. The place is almost deserted on weekends, which serves me just fine.

I have not eaten at the hotel restaurant, but....the menu looks somewhat "basic". There are not too many, if any, other eating establishments within easy walking distance. However, Orange County's biggest shopping mall....with numerous places to eat is within easy driving distance.

Parking used to be free at this hotel, which suited me fine as I usually stay on weekends. Self parking is now $11/night, which I don't like...!!!

The parking lot has not gotten any bigger. In my estimation, the tripadvisor complaints about parking has just resulted in an overnight stay getting $11.00 more expensive.

If parking was still free, I would rate this Doubletree a "five". Because of the parking charges I'll only give it a "four".

PS: There is another Doubletree nearby. It is rated a little higher, and costs $10/15 a night more on hotwire.com. However, it charges even more for parking....!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I found this hotel on Priceline when I was looking for a pre-cruise hotel stay not too far from Long Beach. It is a Hilton property and I was very pleased with the room and would stay here again. They heard everyone's complaints about the parking so they contracted out with valet parking for those that get there late. We didn't have a problem getting a parking spot but when we woke up the next day, we saw cars parked in every nook & cranny possible. Self-park is $11/day and valet park is $13/day. It used to be free but since they got complaints they subcontracted it out. You pay an extra couple bucks to the valet if you get there late.

Our room was clean, large, flat screen tv, had a view of the pond/lake out front and close to the freeway. At $45/day plus $11 parking on priceline bid, I certainly can't complain. The motel 6 was $70 so I was very pleased. Plus it came with a full hot breakfast buffet for the two of us with eggs, bacon, pancakes etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Address: 7 Hutton Centre Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Orange County Airport is a beautiful lakeside property located on the border of Santa Ana, Irvine, and Costa Mesa. This Santa Ana hotel is conveniently located near Orange County's corporate business centers, including First American, IBM and Sears. Enjoy proximity to nearby CA attractions including Newport Beach, Angel Stadium, South Coast Plaza and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Doubletree Orange County Airport
DoubleTree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.