We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel....at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hutton Centre Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Business Package
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersBronze level
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel....at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have used hotwire.com several times to book a room at this hotel. At $49/night it is a steal if you just want a place to sleep.

The rooms are nice and clean and check-in is fast and efficient. The last time I stayed there I messed up and arrived a day earlier than my hotwire reservation called for. The manager was nice enough to switch my reservation around although the reservation issue was clearly my own fault.

The hotel is located in a large office park, which empties out at night. The place is almost deserted on weekends, which serves me just fine.

I have not eaten at the hotel restaurant, but....the menu looks somewhat "basic". There are not too many, if any, other eating establishments within easy walking distance. However, Orange County's biggest shopping mall....with numerous places to eat is within easy driving distance.

Parking used to be free at this hotel, which suited me fine as I usually stay on weekends. Self parking is now $11/night, which I don't like...!!!

The parking lot has not gotten any bigger. In my estimation, the tripadvisor complaints about parking has just resulted in an overnight stay getting $11.00 more expensive.

If parking was still free, I would rate this Doubletree a "five". Because of the parking charges I'll only give it a "four".

PS: There is another Doubletree nearby. It is rated a little higher, and costs $10/15 a night more on hotwire.com. However, it charges even more for parking....!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    150
    71
    28
    14
See reviews for
106
57
46
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I found this hotel on Priceline when I was looking for a pre-cruise hotel stay not too far from Long Beach. It is a Hilton property and I was very pleased with the room and would stay here again. They heard everyone's complaints about the parking so they contracted out with valet parking for those that get there late. We didn't have a problem getting a parking spot but when we woke up the next day, we saw cars parked in every nook & cranny possible. Self-park is $11/day and valet park is $13/day. It used to be free but since they got complaints they subcontracted it out. You pay an extra couple bucks to the valet if you get there late.

Our room was clean, large, flat screen tv, had a view of the pond/lake out front and close to the freeway. At $45/day plus $11 parking on priceline bid, I certainly can't complain. The motel 6 was $70 so I was very pleased. Plus it came with a full hot breakfast buffet for the two of us with eggs, bacon, pancakes etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We would not stay here again, the hotel is nice but the issue with parking is enough to say do not stay again. Once the parking lot is full ( valet parking pretty much is the only way you get to park here) you have to use an over-flow parking parkade several blocks away, dark and out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Having stayed at the nearby Doubletree, I had thought this property might be similar. Not. It has the feel of a drab Holiday Inn with the smell of stale smoke pervading the rooms. I was moved twice (first put in a smoking room. Second put in a room that faced the freeway) and finally put in a room that was acceptable for my two-night stay. As a Hilton Diamond member, it seemed unnecessary to have to go through such inconvenience had they read my profile preferences in the slightest. The room I am in is supposedly a non-smoking room on the 2nd floor. It is painted the color of baby dung, with stained carpeting and a pervasive odor of staleness. The bathtub faucet leaks and is stained from long-term oversight. The bathroom pocket door has grimy fingerprints reminiscent of a seedy New York tenement. The front door rattles all night as it is ill-fit to the jam. The back security door at the bottom of the stairwell has been unlocked or wide open since I arrived, allowing anyone free access to the room hallways at any time. Be careful about where they put you, as the 55 freeway insures constant traffic noise if you are on two sides of this dated building. Parking is so limited that they force people to valet park if their occupancy is high. The saving grace of my room is the lovely man-made duck pond that was built as part of the adjoining Hutton Centre develpment. it includes a great walkway for walking or jogging. Other than that, there is simply nothing to recommend about this property. It needs to be gutted and redone. The "bones" are there and the location is convenient for business in central Orange County. Luckily, there are several other properties within this price range that are much better choices.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I needed a property near Orange County Airport that had a shuttle and wouldn't wear the numbers off my credit card. In the baggage claim area I noticed they have kiosks which directly connect you to local hotels for shuttle service, well sort of, only three hotels were listed and the Doubletree was not one of them. Once I dug the number out and called the hotel they picked me out in about 15 minutes. Front desk staff was very nice and pointed out the restaurant/lounge area, explained how the types and hours of meal service. Room was what I expected, clean and updated. My room faced the 55, but the road noise was not noticable. The staff at the restaurant were attentive and it seemed to me that many of the guest were regulars and there was always lively conversation in the lounge. Internet worked fine, they have a nice business center also. The one downside to this property is the parking. The lot is small for a hotel and the surrounding office towers make parking a premium BUT the fact that you don't have the option to self park, and the valet rate they charge will be high, would influence my decision to stay here if I had a rental car. The valet's even gave my coworker a hard time when he came to pick me up in the morning. I would hope a great property would not stake its reputation on their parking shortcomings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I am a filmmaker who travels with specialized and expensive electronics equipment. I had to attend an event at this hotel and was not afforded an opportunity to self-park my car and retain the keys to my vehicle. The valet manager insisted that I would have to let the valet park the car, or park a block away in a retail area and walk to the hotel in the dark on a nearly deserted walkway around a man made lake.

I could not explain to the valet that I had this equipment because I am concerned with the security of my gear. But, I feel others who travel with expensive merchandise or equipment would also be opposed to giving their keys to a valet.

I have attended a monthly meeting at this hotel for a very long time. This is a very new policy. I hope the management re-thinks this policy and gives guests an opportunity to self-park when they object to giving up their keys.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We enjoyed the 3 night stay at the Doubletree Club Orange County Airport. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was good. We did have an issue with the sofabed not having clean bedding, but when we called the problem was quickly rectified with a housekeeper quickly making up the sofabed with all new bedding. We liked the location and we were able to take advantage of the "Make my weekend" special that included a nice breakfast buffet. The room AC/fan is a little noisy but we didn't need to use it much. Note: Our parking was free, but they will be charging $11/night self parking starting Nov. 1. Unfortunately It seems like all the hotels are doing this now. The current free parking did influence our decision to stay here though. Lastly the pretty lake in front of the hotel is really nice and there is even a duck food dispenser with which you can feed all the different kinds of ducks there. We actually really had fun doing this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Address: 7 Hutton Centre Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Orange County Airport is a beautiful lakeside property located on the border of Santa Ana, Irvine, and Costa Mesa. This Santa Ana hotel is conveniently located near Orange County's corporate business centers, including First American, IBM and Sears. Enjoy proximity to nearby CA attractions including Newport Beach, Angel Stadium, South Coast Plaza and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Doubletree Orange County Airport
DoubleTree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.