We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites John Wayne Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Quality Suites John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Hotel Terrace Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Paul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for a trip to Disneyland, because it is much cheaper than staying near the park. This place is only 10 miles from Disney, so it seems to be a good value.It is a quick and easy drive to Disney (parking hint for Disney-park in the Toy Story lot, much easier to get out of at the end of the day.) The rooms are large and clean. They serve a complimentary breakfast, including cooked to order eggs, sausage, bacon and pancakes, which is very convenient. The grounds are well kept, and there is easy freeway access. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Quality Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great parking tip we will definitely inform our guest who visit Disney. Once again, thank you for taking time to comment about your stay and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    67
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
77
34
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a typical outdoor access mini suite hotel. I enjoy Embassy Suites, but this hotel offers ninety percent of the value of the Embassy Suites next door for nearly half the rate. The rooms are basic, but clean. The air conditioner works very well also.

The bedrooms have a 42 inch led tv, while the sitting area has an older large tube television. The beds are comfortable and the room does not smell of mold or cigarette smoke.

The best feature of this hotel is the hot breakfast, which is cooked to order with eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, hash browns and hotcakes in addition to typical continental style serve yourself items.

Property is easily accessible to the 55 freeway and you can be at Orange County Airport, Irvine or Costa Mesa in 5 minutes, Newport Beach or Disney in 10. Great location.

My only dislike was the Wi-Fi. It makes you view ads before you can log in and then is VERY SLOW. 10 years ago, ok? 2013? Not acceptable.

Still overall a very good family value.

Room Tip: The back of the property parking area doesn't feel as secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe there aren't other hotels in this immediate area which warrant higher ratings than for this hotel.

It really shows its age & need for updating from the time you first arrive in the lobby. This theme carries through to the rooms & their furnishings. They're all "OK" but definitely not of the quality one would expect at a property rated 3rd highest in the area.

We had to be moved to a different room shortly after arriving because the heat was not working in the 1st room (defective thermostat) & water leaked from the base of the sink faucet.

Best feature here is the cooked to order breakfast. There's a warning in the room there might be a wait but we got immediate service. Nice selections & good food.

Overall, disappointed & would choose one of the many nearby places over this one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, perfectly close to the airport. Quiet even. Lush garden atmosphere, complimentary drinks, I mean real drinks. Wifi connection is geat in the lobby, bar, and pool, but in the room lasts only for 5 minute increments (horrible, but free). Rooms are clean and compfy. Bartender is awesome, be sure to tip him well. Would stay again...but not when I need wifi (want to pull my hair out). Great price too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Quality Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our services and amenities. I do apologize that the WIFI was kicking you off every five minutes. We are currently in the process of changing that issue. Once again thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid Jan just before to a cruise leaving from San Pedro. We picked this hotel because of Tripadvisor reviews, lower cost, and to be close to family living in Irvine. Check-in and out was no problem. Wireless internet was good. Breakfast was very good and fast service - we ate around 9 AM so I think most guests had gone. Room was ground floor facing in, and very quiet, no airplane or road noise. Parking was easy, but not too close to the room. Beds were very good and everything worked fine. Everything was very clean; 2 nice large rooms. For some reason the fan (bathroom exhaust or heating - not sure) was loud all night but we didn't bother to change rooms because we had only 2 nights. The only issue was that the free local calls didn't work because the call to our relatives who live 5 miles away was long distance - very strange because I used my cell phone and it was local.

We plan to go back for a week and will probably give this a try again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Quality Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the long distance calls. Unfortunately, our area code is 714 and Irvine is a 949 area code causing that call to be long distance. Once again, I do apologize for that inconvenience and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was in Irvine on business. I passed on the Embassy Suites and LaQuinta nearby due to recent posts. After talking to colleagues who stayed there, I am glad I did. The hotel room was basic and not as much quality that Embassy Suites is known for, but the Quality In was very clean, breakfast was very good, and the hotel layout was easy. It was $20 a night cheaper. Very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Quality Suites John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to enjoy our full cooked to order. Once again thank you for taking time to write a review and we hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the property January 25th so we could visit some colleges in the area. I booked the hotel online and payed $85 with taxes for the advanced purchase rate. When we checked in I didn't realize all the rooms were accessed from the outside and not through a secure lobby area. Since we were traveling alone I asked the front desk for an inside courtyard room which looked a little safer. I was told since I prepaid for the room at the rate quoted in the reservation that the only rooms I could have were at the end of property facing the street. So we were given a room on the second floor right next the the stairwell at the end. There was no swaying the front desk clerk for another option on the property. Aside from the room being very clean, this was the loudest room I have ever stayed in between the loud street noise of cars and police sirens and the thin walls from other guests above us walking around half the night. It also took a good 5 minutes to get hot water in our room for a shower which I also reported to the front desk. We also did not get breakfast in the morning since the line at 7am was out the front door as people were waiting for their cook to order meal. The breakfast set up is a single line so you into the room so you can't just go grab a piece of fruit or bowl of cereal like at an Embassy Suites for instance. We waited a good 10 minutes but had to leave because we had to be on the road by 7:30. I told the front desk at checkout about our unfortunate stay, but not a single apology or offer to make it better. My best advice if you choose to stay there is to pay the extra amount to have a courtyard or pool view room or pick another hotel in the area. There are many more options that look better and safer.

Room Tip: Spend more money to get a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Suites John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites John Wayne Airport

Address: 2701 Hotel Terrace Drive, Santa Ana, CA 92705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Suites hotel is an atrium-style, 177 all-suite hotel. Hotel offers a courtesy shuttle to John Wayne Orange County Airport, free wireless Internet access and on-site fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Suites John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Suites John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.