We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A British Pub in Santa? Yes, and worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Ship

Olde Ship
1120 W 17th St, Santa Ana, CA 92706
714-550-6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 608 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A British Pub in Santa? Yes, and worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As part of our 3-restaurant 35th anniversary celebration, we made the Olde Ship a must visit.
Great British food (the curry and fish and chips in ale-batter are great), more UK beers than you can count, most on tap and attentive friendly service... a small mention of the anniversary and out came a beautiful syrupy tart (desert) with a candle....we ddin't want to leave, but they were closing.

Absolutely worth a visit... repeated visits in fact.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always in my heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my local for many years. Great food, great beer, great atmosphere. It is truly a British pub. Check their schedule - they have pub trivia night once a month and there is always live music on the weekends with no cover. Tell the manager, Jackie, that I sent ya!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Decor makes you feel like you are in England”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good decent pub food, service was good, good choices of beer, lots of parking and plenty to look at in the Pub, they have really created the Old English atmosphere.

What was funny was instead of soccer or rugby on the TV's when we arrived, they had Australian AFL on, not at all "British".

Worth a visit for a pub meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cooks Scampi and Chips very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We ate here with our hosts on a recent trip to CA. It was their favorite local place. I had the Cooks Scampi and Chips and the shrimp was great. I can't say that British cuisine was my favorite but everyone loved their dinner & the portions were huge. The atmosphere was nice & I enjoyed looking at the decorations and reading the bits of history in the menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent place for a beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you like beer, english food and soccer then this is the place for you. My only real beef with this place is that it's on the pricey side for what it is.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Ship also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Olde Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.