We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but $4.95 rice?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Khyber

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Khyber
1621 W Sunflower Ave, Santa Ana, CA 92704
(714) 436-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Royal Khyber is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 607 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S Bear St.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great food, but $4.95 rice?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I *love* indian food and go as often as I can (not often since I live somewhere with no indian restaurants). I'm addicted to vegetable korma.

At the suggestion of a hotel concierge, I tried this place and was mostly delighted. The server was charming, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I wanted to try a new-to-me dish and she did a great job helping me pick something. The meal was indeed excellent.

The restaurant itself is very attractive, and would be a nice place to have dinner with a partner.

My only complaint - if you want rice with the meal, it's extra. I'm fine with that as that's becoming more common at restaurants. However, it's usually $1 or $2. Royal Khyber charges $4.95 for a *tiny* bowl of jasmine rice. That's offensively expensive. While it didn't ruin the experience for me, it definitely left me a bit bitter.

Also, please note that posted hours were until 9:30, but when I walked out at 9pm, they locked the door behind me. Not sure if that is normal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MEDIOCRE FOOD AND SERVICE WITH HIGH PRICES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Location: Good
Decor: Good
Service :Poor
Food: Bland and high priced-Mango Lassi almost as expensive as the Wine.Chicken Kebab was totally Bland and undercooked.Lamb Biriyani was insipid.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, but be prepared to be nickeled to death”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

No issues with the food at all... excellent quality, selection and taste... but you'd think at $20-$25 per entree, that they could provide more than 1/2 cup or rice...?...rather than a $5 side order of white rice??? Chutney, etc., that are normally provided with the meal by most Indian restaurants, are similarly expensive side dishes... Be prepared to spend well over $100 for a normal/standard two person meal...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Authentic Middle Eastern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Great place to venture into Middle Eastern Food. Their starter platter is a must try. Excellent on house starters. Humus with their bread is fantastic. Kebabs are nice too. At time weekends they have music. Nice family place with warm staff. A little on the expensive side.

  • Visited April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of best Indian restuarants in Socal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My favorite Indian place since past 10 years, (until i discoverd Chakra at Irvine). None the less, Royal Khyber is un-matched. We go there and enjoy the ambience, service and delicious food. Staff is full of smiles although i do get uncomfortable every time that tall dude walks by our table... sight of him makes me feel we are not welcome in that restuarant.

Definitely not a kid friendly place. And not a place if you are on tight budget.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Khyber also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Royal Khyber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Khyber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.