We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Nice View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange County Mining Co

Orange County Mining Co
10000 Crawford Canyon Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705-1490
714-997-7411
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orange County Mining Co is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 608 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chapman-Cannon
Eastvale, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We recently went to ths restaurant to meet some out of town guests and we had a very nice time. It has been over 20 years since my last visit here and it was nice to see the quality of the food has not changed. The theme of the restaurant is of a "mining company" (I am sure you already guessed that) and it was complete with sounds of miners and mine cars rolling on the tracks as you enter into the restaurant. I suggest you go in the evening so you can enjoy the beautiful view of the lights of Orange County. If you have a later dinner reservation you can watch the firework show at Disneyland (around 9:30pm) - our server was very nice and the service was very good. This is not quite considerred to be a "Fine Dining" restaurant so do not feel like you need to get too dressed up. Make sure you try the cheese bread - it is to die for.........enjoy !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Been here before for dinner and this was our lst Happy Hour Outing...and we DEFINITELY will be back!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota / Isle of Man
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Apart from the view, not special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've dined at the Orange County Mining Co several times over the years. I go for the view, which is superb; not for the food, which (apart from the great salad bar) is ordinary and pricey. Were it not for the scenery, I'd only rate this restaurant at 3/5.
Since you are paying for the view, I recommend the outdoor deck. If the evening is chilly, heaters warm you. As another reviewer remarked, smoking is allowed on the deck: if that bothers you, eat indoors.
Service is friendly and usually efficient -- though not speedy if the place is full.
Avoid the mixed drinks, especially in pitchers. Grossly overpriced for the amount of alcohol included. The Gin Gin Mule, for example, has a kick like a baby butterfly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Fabulous View With A Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The view and sunset was something else and even as impressive was the food and salad bar. There were 12 of us and each and everyone truly had a great evening thanks to the service, meals and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best brunch!! the food was great, service great very good selection. Will be back soon. This was a great place for a birthday Brunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange County Mining Co also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Orange County Mining Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange County Mining Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.