We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the Best Courtyard in USA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 MacArthur Place, Santa Ana, CA 92707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Santa Ana
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“This is one of the Best Courtyard in USA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here to try out different Marriott options within the Irvine/Costa Mesa and this one is a perfect example of how Marriott should be like.

Location: close to freeway, business parks, John Wayne Airport (With drive or shuttle services) and South Coast Plaza.

Facilities: Brand new gym, great pools and friendly staff. Open bar in the lobby area where many people gather and socialize at night.

Rooms: Spacious, brand new rooms with all the latest technology features. Comfortable bed and AC. Excellent shower pressure and the bathroom is spotless.

Overall, an excellent value for those who needs to bank Marriott status. The only thing that I did not like is the parking charges. I believe they should remove the charge since many other hotels nearby do not charge for parking.

Room Tip: Away from the street for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the staff.
We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
19
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here due to its proximity to John Wayne Airport and it did the job. Friendly staff (nothing was too much trouble) spacious rooms and good value for money. The service in the bistro was excellent too. The pool looked nice but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will get a chance to relax by the pool on your next visit.
Thanks again and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This new hotel is everything a Courtyard should be! Absolutely spotless, a great pool, gym, and friendly, helpful staff. We stayed here on two different occasions in February 2013 and each visit was perfect. We always ask for top floor rooms, away from the elevator. We found that the interior side rooms (away from either road) were very quiet. We will definitely be back anytime we are in Orange County!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments to the rest of the staff as we take great pride in providing a clean and inviting hotel. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just stayed here last weekend because I had some weekend business in the area. I have never spent any real time in Orange county much less this are before so I went off the reviews on here when booking my reservation. I am a Marriott rewards gold member so I stay at plenty of Marriott locations every year and this seemed to be one of the newer Courtyards I have stayed in recently. If nothing else it has recently gone through a face lift and it is quite shiny still.

My check okay except that I requested a room on the interior of the hotel, a room on an end, or a room away from an elevator and I was not given any of my requests. In fact I was given a room facing the street in the middle of the hotel right across from the elevator. I wasn't exactly thrilled, but after so long in the car I really did not feel like messing with requesting to be moved so I just went out in search of food.

I got in that night and got into bed and was awoken about 11pm by the people in the room next to me locking someone out of their room and that person beating on the door and yelling about letting them in. I called down to the front desk and they said they would have someone come up. For the next 30 minutes to an hour I listened to what I can only assume was drunk people laughing and screaming in the room next to me. I eventually just turned on the television with the sleep timer on and left the volume up and put in earplugs to go to sleep because the desk obviously wasn't sending anyone up.

The next morning I got up and went to take care of what I was in town for and on my way down to the lobby there was a man who came out of the elevator smoking and went right into his room. I notified the desk of this on my way out and they just kind of looked at me and said "So". I came back from my meeting and hit the gym facility which are nice here. They do have more machines than most Courtyards which is nice. I went back up to my room and relaxed best I could between the loud people next door and the traffic noise outside. Again that night I went out for dinner and came back in and spent my night listening to a bunch of loud people through the walls screaming, laughing, banging, and thumping all night long.

As I was checking out the front desk staff asked me how everything was and I proceeded to tell her about my experience and she listened for a moment then rudely interrupted me and said "Well I'm sorry you had such a bad experience."

Long story short the place is quite pretty but it is REALLY loud and the walls are paper thin. The ONLY reason I am giving it a poor rating and not a terrible is because of the decent gym and the fact that it was not torn to shreds. I have to go back to the area again this weekend and I cancelled my reservation at this location and booked somewhere else.. The customer service is horrible and someone needs to address it badly. Those were the most expensive nights of bad sleep I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. While we strive to provide excellent guest service to each of our guests, it is important to know when we fall short, so thank you.

We will be following up with all of our staff members to ensure that we understand the importance of communication with our guests as well as promptly addressing their concerns.

I would like to apologize for the challenges that you experienced and invite you to please contact me directly if you would be willing to discuss this further.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that was close to John Wayne Airport that would best suit the needs for a quiet night rest, and this hotel fit the bill. The only surprise (and it wasn't a big surprise) was the fact that the hotel did have a parking fee for your vehicle. The cost was minimal... I believe it was $8, and they also had a reasonable valet option as well. The lobby was very modern and open. They had an expansive area where you could find a chair and lounge/relax if you chose to. They also had a coffee bar, although we didn't go to it so I cannot give you enough details if that is something that would sway your booking here.

The hotel was clean, as was the room. We stayed on the 4th floor, in the room adjacent to MacArthur Blvd, and I can tell you that we didn't hear any traffic (which could be a problem at other places, but it seems that this building is built right).

The bathroom was very modern, with a beautiful shower, and it too was very roomy.

We've stayed at many Courtyards before, and I have to say that I really like this new design. By far, this was the best we've experienced at a Courtyard, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling with a family, or travelling on business. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Do yourself a favor if you are staying here and haven't seen much of the Pacific Coast... be sure to take a drive South to Laguna Beach, or North to Huntington Beach on the Pacific Coast Highway to catch a sunset. Sheer beauty that you will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you didn't have the opportunity to try our Bistro, be sure to stop by on your next visit and enjoy a Starbucks Latte.
We look forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

You can save about $40 by staying at this Courtyard versus staying at a full fledged Marriott around the area. The renovated room is very nice...everything that you would find at a Marriott. In fact, the shower was better than the Marriott's shower. There is ample free parking in the rear of the hotel. Good location. It's very clean.The staff at the lobby snack bar is wonderful. Check-in was a breeze. My complaints...the walls are super thin. I could hear the guest in the next room coughing like he was in my room. Also, I wish there was body lotion in the room...they do supply shampoo and conditioner. All in all, I will stay here again, and hope the guests in the next room don't make too much noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and your compliments! I will be sure to share them with the Bistro staff.
While we provide Paul Mitchel shampoo and conditioner in the guestrooms, we do have body lotion upon request. Please be sure to let us know when you are returning and we will be sure to place the body lotion in your room prior to your arrival.
We have also just upgraded our in room coffee to Seatlle's Best, which we hope you will enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful.
They are making sure that your stay is comfortable. They even made me a sandwich after the cafe is closed.
When I was there, the shuttle broke down but they paid for the taxi from and to the airport.
There is a food mall just across the street. Quite nice.
Plenty of parking.
Bed is comfortable.
Room is clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stasia W, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our number one priority is to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We hope to you again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Address: 8 MacArthur Place, Santa Ana, CA 92707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Ana John Wayne Airport/Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.