We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local culture exists!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowers Museum of Cultural Art

Bowers Museum of Cultural Art
2002 N. Main St. at 20th St., Santa Ana, CA
714-567-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Santa Ana
Type: Art Museums, Children's Museums, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits specialize in the art of the world's indigenous peoples.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local culture exists!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Bowers has excellent exhibits, and great speaker/programs. I attended the Laura Hillman program this spring and was amazed at the over flow crowd!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    55
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This museum is very nice. The people here are very kind and informative. The exhibits are relatively new begining in the 18th century and forward. I would recommend coming here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely museum you can see in a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you're looking for a museum in a beautiful setting with interesting collections that you can actually get through in a single visit, the Bowers is for you. The permanent collections of Polynesian art and artifacts and the California history section will delight you and your out-of-town guests. I was also lucky enough to catch the amazing temporary Faberge exhibit. It's exquisite!! My only wish was that for some of the intricate jeweled pieces, I wished they'd had a magnifying glass handy to fully appreciate the level of detail in the pieces.

I took my mom, who very much enjoyed the museum, too. It was a nice mother-daughter day.

Great location, easy to get to. I can't believe I've lived in So Cal my whole life (and even worked less than a mile from the museum for several years!) and this was the first time I visited. It won't be my last.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great permanent collection, fine traveling exhibits and wonderful cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Do not miss the Cafe for a break after visiting the many fine exhibits! great art, great gift shop too, easy parking
bring the family or take a tour: check special events and free admission days

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
605 reviews 605 reviews
217 attraction reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mission House, Large Collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was surprised by the quality and depth of the collections at the Bowers Museum. The collection is housed in a mission style house with a very large modern annex. The displays are well organized and professional. The Polynesian art display is impressive, the best I've seen outside of the Quai Branly Museum in Paris. I particularly enjoyed the ancestor towers. Also quite impressive are the well organized displays of Chinese and Mayan art. The mission house has some interesting modern California paintings and Spanish colonial artifacts. There were excellent temporary exhibitions of Faberge art and scrimshaw. The gift shop has a pleasant clutter of interesting jewelry and there is an upscale restaurant. Onsite parking is $6.50, but you can find free street parking nearby. Definitely an outstanding medium size museum and the best I've seen in Orange County.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowers Museum of Cultural Art also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Bowers Museum of Cultural Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowers Museum of Cultural Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.