We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a worthwhile, educational, uplifting experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowers Museum of Cultural Art

Bowers Museum of Cultural Art
2002 N. Main St. at 20th St., Santa Ana, CA
714-567-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Santa Ana
Type: Art Museums, Children's Museums, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits specialize in the art of the world's indigenous peoples.
Dana Point, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a worthwhile, educational, uplifting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are so lucky to have this gem in Orange County. Today we saw an exhibit that featured treasures from ancient China, including Terra Cotta Warriors. We had seen the original exhibit they had a while back, but this was a new one, and had many other treasures as well. A wonderfully curated exhibit which clearly and succinctly laid out the various dynasties and the hallmarks of those dynasties, accompanied by artifacts. There is a simple to operate audio device that is included with admission so that one has an electronic personal tour guide, so to speak. I am never disappointed with a visit to the Bowers.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    55
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Treasure in Santa Ana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A visit to the Bowers Museum is always a special treat with their beautiful entry garden and spacious interior. We specifically went to see the Warriors, Tombs and Temples exhibit which is not to be missed. The care taken to display these magnificant pieces along with photos and commentary was the highlight of our day. We also visited the Spirits and Headhunters: Art of the Pacific Islands exhibit with enormously interesting artifacts from Papua New Guinea. Be sure to make a reservation in advance of your visit and have lunch at the Tangata Restaurant within the museum. The food and service is wonderful. All in all, a wonderful way to spend a Sunday.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The museum managed to get several of the Xi-an terra cotta soldiers for a fantastic exhibit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXHIBIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We just saw "The Warriors, Tombs & Temples" China Legacy. It was incredible. I saw the real thing in China years ago and I am really still enthusiastic about their history. Great place to take anybody.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I was Terr-accosted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I went to see the Terracotta Warriors and Chinese history exhibit. It was fascinating, very well laid out, and there was a great photo op at the entrance with a Terracotta Warrior actor who pretended to be a statue and went around and surprised people.

It took us about 2 hours to get through the special exhibit, and we saw the Scrimshaw and Pacific Islands temporary exhibits as well. There was so much more we wanted to see, but it was already closing time. I think you could definitely make an entire day of the museum.

The gift shop was also very nice. Get a fun Terracotta Warrior mask for only a quarter and take some fun pictures! Also good to know, special exhibit price includes admission to the rest of the museum.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowers Museum of Cultural Art also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Bowers Museum of Cultural Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowers Museum of Cultural Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.