We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality and Beautiful Panoramic Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanger B&B and Inns
Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality and Beautiful Panoramic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My husband, almost 4 year old son, and I stayed at the Sequoia View B&B for two nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. We were in Sanger to visit family and decided to treat ourselves a little. We were really impressed with the room, the incredibly comfortable bed, and all the little details: luxury soaps, thick embroidered towels, antiques, linens, etc. The panaromic view of the vinyard and the surrounding orchards was spectacular. Everything was serene and beautiful. My husband's only gripe was there was no TV, but that was not such a big deal because we had a compact DVD player for our son if he wanted it, but we didn't really use it at all. Instead, we explored the vineyard and orchards looking for fall leaves. We are a family of avid cyclists, and the foothills of the Sierras offered really wonderful routes and the owners had good input for which were the best roads with the best shoulders. They also let us store our bicycles in the winery. Of course, we can't write a review about a winery B&B without mentioning the wine! It was fantastic! We brought home two cases because they don't sell it in stores or to wholesalers. When you're in Sanger - this is a MUST STOP for cycling and wine enthusiasts!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was a 1 night spur-of-the-moment decision. The idea of staying at a vineyard in the fruit-growing area of the San Joaquin Valley sounded very appealing. Owners Jim and Debbie were very pleasant and welcoming. The room was attractive and clean.

However, the thermostat on the wall in the room was set for 78 degrees and covered with a LOCKED plastic box! 78 is warmer than we like for sleeping, and we could not adjust the temperature due to the locked thermostat. Since the daytime temp had dropped from 90 degrees plus to the 50's, we opened the windows. Now, we heard traffic from trucks and cars all night. This guest house is right on a major road and the traffic noise was continuous making it difficult to sleep.

This is the first time that I have stayed in any room where the thermostat was locked to prevent guests from adjusting the temperature for their comfort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

From the first contact made with Debbie, our experience of the Sequoia View B and B was fabulous. Both she and Jim made us very welcome and we seriously did not want to leave the tranquility of their haven only a short drive to the stunning National Parks. The accommodation was both comfortable and homely at the same time as being scrupulously clean. We enjoyed delicious home-cooked breakfasts including freshly picked and squeezed orange juice. Jim and Debbie have a great knowledge of the parks which they keenly shared, enabling us to get the best out of our stay. The wine is very good too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Sequoia View is a lovely retreat (at a functioning winery) at the foothills of Kings Canyon & Sequoia National Parks. Your time at the Bed & Breakfast will include several highlights. Jim & Debbie are availale and anxious to explain the winery business to you and show you firsthand how things "work". They are lovely, hospitable people who love to engage you in interesting conversation. Debbie will greet you each moring and serve the most delicous breakfasts you can imagine. Fresh squeezed orange juice, local fresh fruit, homemade breads, blueberry pancakes, fruit fritatas....need I go on?\

The accomodations are spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom in the Zinfandel suite is the largest we've ever seen....and the jacuzzi tub is wonderful.

While we were there the temperatures in the Valley were nearing 100 degrees. Not accustomed to such warm temperatures we were a little warm in our suite. Debbie graciously accommodated us by turning down the thermostat until we were more than cool. She understands that "the customer is always right"!

We would strongly recommend this B & B until when visiting the National Parks. A great time!! Make sure you ship home some of their wine.....they will be happy to host you in tasting all their varieties. Thanks Jim & Debbie for a great visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The only night of our 3 week trip not booked in advance so no time for research. Previous hosts sourced and booked the accomodation so we arrived not knowing what to expect. The location was wonderful, the room superb and the breakfast a delight. The hosts were so helpful and friendly it was a sheer pleasure to stay in such a wondrous location. We had the room above the vinery and sat with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the distant mountains - we could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

If you're looking for a peaceful place to relax and enjoy good wine... this is the place. Debbie and Jim are delightful host! Everything was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed in the Winemaker's Suite - a private room in its own building (upstairs from the winery and tasting room) overlooking the vineyards with mountains in the background. It was comfortable, spacious, and fully equipped for a few days' stay. The hosts make a fantastic breakfast and were so helpful and friendly. They both know the area well and were able to make some great recommendations for exploring, eating, etc.. The only drawback (if you consider it a drawback) is that there isn't much action. There's a very small downtown a short drive away with only a couple of restaurants and no movie theaters or entertainment. We really enjoyed the forced relaxation, though! We actually read and talked. Imagine that. :)

  • Liked — beautiful views, size of space, privacy
  • Disliked — kind of 'middle of nowhere', but that could also be a 'like best'
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanger
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
20.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#9 of 65 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
15.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis
18.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657
Location: United States > California > Sanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sequoia View B&B, located on 20 acres with an estate vineyard, is named for its panoramic views of nearby Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. Each of the 3 suites has private entrances and baths. Guests enjoy a wine & cheese reception at check-in and a full homemade breakfast in the morning.Visitors have an abundant choice of activities to enjoy due to our location on the Blossom Trail and proximity to the Kings River and national parks. Tour the winery and tasting room and enjoy handcrafted wines made on site by the innkeepers, Jim & Debbie Van Haun. Our Cedar View Winery established in 2001 produces award winning wines, earning medals at local, regional and international competitions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.