We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Day in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast
1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanger B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Day in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had my wedding here in May of 2012, and it was perfect.

I will be here every three months, with my husband, our future children, and anyone wise enough to follow us.

The price? An absolute bargain. Unbelievable as a bed and breakfast. Huge rooms, huge breakfast, discerning staff. Their wine is award winning and outrageously good (and underpriced)!

At my wedding: not only did I get to bring in rentals without a hassle (the day before and everything!), I got to pick them up the next day. Whenever. I did it before noon, but it didn’t seem to matter. It is farm pace out here, not Frezno Frantic, which some people seems to need. On the day of my wedding, the facility provided four people to pitch tents, set out tables, put out chairs and move thousands of pounds of equipment and necessities, free of charge. Free. Never said anything other then ‘does this work for you?’.

Yes, there was dirt. It is a winery. Which is a farm. Farm, farms have dirt. If you are going to complain about dirt at a winery, you must be one of those people that would get married on the beach and complain about the sand (pro tip: don’t complain about dirt at a farm. You seem pretentious. Or stupid. I’ll let you choose).

To come here is to escape reality. A world where you remember how important escape is. These are salt of the earth owners: gracious, kind, gentle and with a ready and steady laugh. After ten visits, I honestly question anyone who doesn’t see it.

Come here and enjoy the wonderment and beauty of this place.

Room Tip: The Zinfandel Suite has the best amenities, while the Wine Makers Suite has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had our small wedding ceremony and reception here in August. We chose the property because of the bed & breakfast and it's proximity to the Cedar View Winery. We were happy to purchase all three rooms for that night since both our Officiant and Matron of Honor with their spouses, were coming from over an hours drive distance.

The rooms were very well and thoughtfully appointed. The bed was just okay, but the room was very clean. The breakfast was uncomfortable, as well, as the couple hovered over us in silence. It was really weird. In all my other B&B experiences, the owners have been overly friendly and welcoming. This couple was a complete departure from that.

Breakfast was barely palatable, the saving grace was the portions were so stingy and small.

The owners were inexcusably rude to every wedding guest we spoke with. Not a one received a warm welcome to their property -- including the bride, the officiant, the coordinator/Matron of Honor, photographer, make-up and hair designer, parents of the groom, etc... not to mention the dear and special guests who traveled from far away places to share our very special evening with us.

Their wedding night attire was completely inappropriate, even for a small, casual wedding such as ours. They wore the shorts and t-shirts they had sported all day.

When we arrived the morning of the wedding to deliver rentals and chairs, the property was filthy. My brother and the Matron of Honor's husband swept as much dust and cobwebs as they possibly could. The owners made no apologies, nor did they offer to take over or even help.

During the meeting we requested to discuss our disappointments, especially the rudeness shown to our guests, they were completely defensive and told us our guests were liars. [I refuse to believe the 70-year-old twin sister of my deceased mother who had driven with her two granddaughters all the way from Reno to be with us would lie about the snarky comment she received when she asked for help from the owner.] Then she belittled us and the situation by accusing us of seeking "compensation" which we were NOT! A personal letter of apology from them to each guest they offended would have fit the bill!

I'm not at all sure why our experience was so completely different from many other reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sequoia View B&B is a terrific place to stay for many reasons. The hosts, Debbie and Jim are quite gracious and full of information of the area. The B&B has lovely rooms which offer a great deal of privacy with a view of the vineyards and Sierra Mountain range. The inn is within a reasonable driving distance to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park. By the way, be sure to have a tasting of their superb award winning wines.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own character and there is no bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay before a hike in Sequoia National Park. Our room, the winemaker suite was beautiful, with gorgeous views of the vineyard and hills. The owners Jim and Debbie began our stay with a lovely wine tasting of their delicious white wine and some very tasty cheese. They were happy to recommend a walk and where to dine. There was a lovely yard to sit and read and relax. A wonderful way to relax after a long drive and before our sequoia visit. can't say enough good things. I have become a huge fan of B & B's - a great way to travel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this quaint, elegant bed and breakfast. The owners, Jim and Debbie, couldn't have been nicer and were so accommodating! They were especially helpful in giving us advice about our trip to the Sequoia National forest and had great recommendations that made our trip amazing. The breakfast was delicious! We had a great time hanging out on the patio watching the stars and enjoying the atmosphere of the vineyard.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the early morning noise from the nearby road may wake you up so I sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a little gem and I should have written sooner. We stayed in the winemaker's suite which is above the tasting room, offering plenty of room for relaxing and lovely views of the vineyard below. What is there not to like about going downstairs and having a few glasses of very delightful wine. Would never have suspected that the wines in the Sequoia area could be that good and award winners. Jim and Debbie are incredible hosts as well as wonderful cooks. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. They were very helpful with dinner suggestions as there are not too many places to eat in Sanger; the best being within walking distance.
Not too far from the entrance to the Park which is a wonderful place to spend a couple of days. Plenty of hiking, picnicking, etc. Debbie and Jim offer all sort of suggestions of places that we might not have stopped in the park had they not told us about them.

Room Tip: Winemaker's Suite is the most quiet as it sits back off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently stayed in the Zinfandel Suite for 2 nights and all I can say is wow!!! Beautiful accommodation, large comfy bed, huge bathroom and in the grounds of the owners winery...what more could you want. Originally we had only booked in for 1 night but stayed for 2. Debbie and Jim, the owners treat you so well and you feel very welcome. Breakfast is served in their house next door and is delicious. Everything home made and freshly squeezed orange juice. Was worried about noise given the close proximity to the road but it was not a problem at all. Very handy location for visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Great restaurant just minute along the road. All in all only one word needed...brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657
Location: United States > California > Sanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sequoia View B&B, located on 20 acres with an estate vineyard, is named for its panoramic views of nearby Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. Each of the 3 suites has private entrances and baths. Guests enjoy a wine & cheese reception at check-in and a full homemade breakfast in the morning.Visitors have an abundant choice of activities to enjoy due to our location on the Blossom Trail and proximity to the Kings River and national parks. Tour the winery and tasting room and enjoy handcrafted wines made on site by the innkeepers, Jim & Debbie Van Haun. Our Cedar View Winery established in 2001 produces award winning wines, earning medals at local, regional and international competitions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list