We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place we'll stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast
1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanger B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only place we'll stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We wouldn't stay any where else! The owners are very attentive. They treat us like family. The food is great! The winery attached is nice and they make award winning wines. It's walking distance to the best restaurant in the area. Close to kings canyon & sequoia national parks. Quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I really thought I wrote this review as soon as I got home. I must have been dreaming so that I could keep this place to myself, but that is not fair, so I will share. This little inn is a delight! My husband rented the Wine Maker's suite for a two day get away after a long silent retreat. Sort of a gentle way of bringing me back among the speaking.

This is a small inn with three suites and the Wine Maker's suite is right above the tasting room with a view of the vineyard and the hills beyond. Upon arrival Jim and Deb greeted us, checked us in and gave us wine! What a great start. The suite itself was large, clean and comfortable with a BIG sleigh bed and a small private balcony. The only thing that would have made this room better would have been a bathtub, but then I would have wanted to move in for good. As for the breakfast, it was just a short walk to Jim and Deb's place for the best breakfast in town! If you are lucky you will be there when the fresh squeezed orange and tangerine juice is served. They should bottle that stuff, yummy! Deb is a wonderful cook who makes her own bread for the French toast and includes fresh blueberries in her pancakes. Jim is very knowledgeable about the area and even helped design a local park. One more thing - The wine they make at the Sequoia is delicious and reasonably priced. There were a couple of varietals that I had never heard off and now I can't forget. Do yourself a favor and take one of their flights for a taste, and be prepared to take a few bottles home.

The Sequoia Inn is a great jumping off point to explore Kings canyon and Sequoia National park, but it is about a 30-45 minute drive to the parks. If you want to spend a quiet afternoon along the rapids of the Russian River, take the scenic and windy two hour drive up Trimmer Springs Rd to Kirk Flat Campgrounds and lay out your blanket and bask in the sun. We went at the end of January and were the only people in the park. Drive carefully and be prepared for beautiful vistas.

I am so glad that my husband booked our stay at the Sequoia View and I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Zinfandel Suite, which is part of a cool older ranch style building. It sits in front of Cedar View Winery. The suite was large, beautifully decorated; massive bathroom, small kitchen with refrig, no stove and bed were huge; with a porch out front. We only stayed one night, but next visit hope to get the Winemaker's Suite which is on the second floor of the winery proper and set back quite a bit from the road. There was some road noise that came through in the Zinfandel Suite, but the windows are dual paned and really minimized the distraction. Jim and Deb serve breakfast in their home next door. At breakfast, we met a couple from our home area and we found that we shared some acquaintances and had similar interests. Breakfast was well made and tasty, the fresh orange juice from the trees outside, was fabulous. We are looking forward to returning. It feels homey.

Room Tip: Try for the winemaker's suite for a quieter room and a view, but not when we want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a delightful overnight stop for us before heading into the mountains from Long Beach. It is small and charming with personal attention given by Jim and Deb. The view is gorgeous, especially from the Winemaker's Suite. My wife loved the decor and our bed was very comfortable. Dinner down the street at the School House was first rate as was Debra's breakfast the next morning. We will definitely stay here when we come this way again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We love this place! The proprietors, Jim & Deb are so nice. They are friendly and go out of their way to make us comfortable. The breakfast is great & they are ready just about anytime to pour you some of their award winning wine. Most of the grapes grown right there! Close to a great restaurant & kings canyon. The rooms are very spacious clean & comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in the winemaker's suite. It was gorgeous with beautiful furniture and an outstanding view of the vineyard and the mountains. The bed was very comfortable and I would have loved to have taken it home.
We arrived slightly later than we had planned but Debbie took her time with us and explained about their wine making and their wine. We sampled five different wines and enjoyed them all. After the tasting, they gave us a recommendation for dinner (The School House Tavern) were we had a nice meal and enjoyed the atmosphere there.
We had a peaceful night. The only noise we heard were some cows in the far distance. We only heard them outside, not in the room. There was a nice balcony outside that we could sit on and watch the stars. The next morning, after watching the sun rise over the vineyard, we headed over for breakfast. Breakfast was delicious. We had French toast, chicken sausage ( which I have never had but I really liked), fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice.
This b and b is ideally located for visiting Sequoia/Kings Canyon or even Yosemite. We stayed there the night before flying out of the Fresno airport. The airport was close by. Thanks Debbie and Jim for giving us such a nice stay. I hope we can find time to come back.

Room Tip: Arrive before we did (6:30 pm), so that you can relax and enjoy the tasting more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pluses:
1) The location of this B&B for visiting King's Canyon and Sequoia National Park cannot be beat. 2) The Alicante Suite is big and beautifully appointed. The bed, sitting area and shower are first class.

Minuses:
1) There was quite a bit of road noise that lasted long into the night and resumed in early morning. Maybe that would be ok for sound sleepers. The proprietors can't exactly help that.
2) Breakfast was tasty and well-prepared, but just enough. Seconds of the main course were not offered. Were they trying to save money? The coffee was just average; we supplemented it by driving back to the Starbucks in Sanger before proceeding up into the mountains.

By no means a bad experience, but we will still look for somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657
Location: United States > California > Sanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sequoia View B&B, located on 20 acres with an estate vineyard, is named for its panoramic views of nearby Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. Each of the 3 suites has private entrances and baths. Guests enjoy a wine & cheese reception at check-in and a full homemade breakfast in the morning.Visitors have an abundant choice of activities to enjoy due to our location on the Blossom Trail and proximity to the Kings River and national parks. Tour the winery and tasting room and enjoy handcrafted wines made on site by the innkeepers, Jim & Debbie Van Haun. Our Cedar View Winery established in 2001 produces award winning wines, earning medals at local, regional and international competitions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list