We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast
1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanger B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We love this place! The proprietors, Jim & Deb are so nice. They are friendly and go out of their way to make us comfortable. The breakfast is great & they are ready just about anytime to pour you some of their award winning wine. Most of the grapes grown right there! Close to a great restaurant & kings canyon. The rooms are very spacious clean & comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in the winemaker's suite. It was gorgeous with beautiful furniture and an outstanding view of the vineyard and the mountains. The bed was very comfortable and I would have loved to have taken it home.
We arrived slightly later than we had planned but Debbie took her time with us and explained about their wine making and their wine. We sampled five different wines and enjoyed them all. After the tasting, they gave us a recommendation for dinner (The School House Tavern) were we had a nice meal and enjoyed the atmosphere there.
We had a peaceful night. The only noise we heard were some cows in the far distance. We only heard them outside, not in the room. There was a nice balcony outside that we could sit on and watch the stars. The next morning, after watching the sun rise over the vineyard, we headed over for breakfast. Breakfast was delicious. We had French toast, chicken sausage ( which I have never had but I really liked), fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice.
This b and b is ideally located for visiting Sequoia/Kings Canyon or even Yosemite. We stayed there the night before flying out of the Fresno airport. The airport was close by. Thanks Debbie and Jim for giving us such a nice stay. I hope we can find time to come back.

Room Tip: Arrive before we did (6:30 pm), so that you can relax and enjoy the tasting more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pluses:
1) The location of this B&B for visiting King's Canyon and Sequoia National Park cannot be beat. 2) The Alicante Suite is big and beautifully appointed. The bed, sitting area and shower are first class.

Minuses:
1) There was quite a bit of road noise that lasted long into the night and resumed in early morning. Maybe that would be ok for sound sleepers. The proprietors can't exactly help that.
2) Breakfast was tasty and well-prepared, but just enough. Seconds of the main course were not offered. Were they trying to save money? The coffee was just average; we supplemented it by driving back to the Starbucks in Sanger before proceeding up into the mountains.

By no means a bad experience, but we will still look for somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I planned a trip from Rescue, CA to Shaver Lake and decided to stay at the Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast, which was wonderful - so relaxing. The owners, Jim and Debbie, were especially welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. They are gracious hosts and their interaction with us and the other guests was quite pleasant. They were very informative - explaining specifics about various wines that we were not familiar with, as well as providing interesting information about the local area. We stayed in The Winemaker's Suite, which was absolutely lovely. The view of the mountains and vineyard from our suite and balcony was breathtaking. We also enjoyed several good wines in the tasting room located directly below our suite. Breakfast was delicious; I especially liked the quiche, potatoes and persimmon bread. Be sure not to miss lunch and/or dinner at the nearby (a few blocks) School House Restaurant and Tavern. It is rustic/elegant. We found the food scrumptious and can't wait to return to try some of their other dishes - I should add that our waiter (Greg) was extraordinary. Jim and Debbie were perfect hosts and our stay at their B&B was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had planned to stay for 2 nights but extended our stay to 3 as it was such a lovely b+b. Debbie and Jim are lovely hosts who provided excellent information on what to see and where to eat. Breakfasts were very good and freshly made. Our room, the Winemaker's Suite, was large and very comfortable. It had lovely views across the vineyard to the Sierras. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: The Winemaker's suite is away from the road and has marvellous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Debbie and Jim have a great B&B here - a warm and cozy place to stay. It is very close to the entrance to the King's Canyon Sequoias. We stayed in the Zinfandel suite and totally enjoyed it. Two requests we would make next time (and we do indeed plan to stay again) would be a coffee maker in the room and an informational tour of the winery and vineyards. The tasting was a nice touch with the stay, and it was appreciated.
We would stay here again when passing through the area.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I were attending a wedding in Fresno and wanted something other than a typical hotel. This B&B was incredible! The property was beautiful (vineyards right out our door), the room was spacious with an incredible spa tub, and the hosts were so friendly and warm. To top it all off, the breakfast was delicious and their wine (they had a wine tasting in the afternoon) was fantastic, especially their Alicante varietal; we bought several bottles and are keeping them for our next special event. We highly recommend this B&B/winery for anyone looking for a romantic weekend or for a great wine tasting experience without all the hype of other wine areas.

Room Tip: We had a chance to see all their rooms and all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1384 S. Frankwood Ave., Sanger, CA 93657
Location: United States > California > Sanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sequoia View B&B, located on 20 acres with an estate vineyard, is named for its panoramic views of nearby Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. Each of the 3 suites has private entrances and baths. Guests enjoy a wine & cheese reception at check-in and a full homemade breakfast in the morning.Visitors have an abundant choice of activities to enjoy due to our location on the Blossom Trail and proximity to the Kings River and national parks. Tour the winery and tasting room and enjoy handcrafted wines made on site by the innkeepers, Jim & Debbie Van Haun. Our Cedar View Winery established in 2001 produces award winning wines, earning medals at local, regional and international competitions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list