We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated with Paper Thin Walls” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center

Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6450 Elwood Drive, Sanger, CA 93657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sanger
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dated with Paper Thin Walls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Was here for one night for a wedding and while reception at the front desk was great, the rest of the experience was sad. The hotel is just for weddings, there are no restaurants and no vending machines anywhere nearby. The rooms, beds, carpets, and furniture are old and run down - we're talking green carpets and wood panels with no insulation between rooms. The beds are not comfortable, and the linens are scratch and thread bare. This place is in need of serious updating! If I ever have to attend another wedding here, I would rather catch a taxi back to Fresno then spend the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I purchased the 2 $39 groupons which was for a hour trail ride for two. Due to the favorable response, i could not book a Saturday event for 4 people because they were booked, but they agreed to waive the expiration, that meant we missed the wildflowers blooming. The girl in the office was incredibly rude because I printed my groupon receipt to show I payed for for the Groupon, but not the bar code, and she made me feel very uncomfortable. The two young guides were friendly and gracious. The "trail ride" however, was simply a tour of the trashy back yards of the houses and trailers of the residents of Wonder Valley, not scenic at all. I was not allowed to pull my horse (I am an experienced rider) a few feet out of line to take a photo of my friends. They promised to take a picture when we got back to the stable. After a 40 minute ride, they asked us to line our horses up on the fence. They refused to walk the horses out of the shade into the sun for a picture because it was too much trouble, so the pictures did not turn out out. In short, if you have a city kid who has never been on a horse, they will enjoy the experience. Otherwise, don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Wonder Valley Ranch for the first time this weekend. We stayed in a little cottage and was very happy with the size, style and comfort. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the grounds very well kept. The wedding garden was so beautiful! There are numerous activities for all ages....I just wished I had enough time to do them all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Overall the Best place to hold your next Wedding. Staff is fantastic and very responsive.Highly recommend. Ask for Myrna, she will meet all your needs. Brides room for getting ready is well maintained and clean. And the reception area is large enough to hold most weddings. The lakeside view during the day and night is worth the money for picture alone. Overall, the best value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for a night as we couldn't get any accommodation inside the King's Canyon park. It is about 45 mins drive from the park. If you need dinner, you need to make reservations here as there are no places nearby. The nearest is Bear Mountain pizza on hwy 180 which is about 15 mins away in a slightly winding road. The room was spacious and beds were ok. The morning breakfast was included and was nice. There are numerous other activity choices if you are interested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I joined a bus tour: 3 days and 2 nights at Wonder Valley, not really knowing what to expect. We had a great time and laughed a lot. We wished we could've stayed longer - more Wonder Valley and less bus ride.
There was a lot to do- something for everyone. We took this trip to see the bald eagles. In spite of some cool, rainy weather, we went on the boat and saw eagles. We learned a lot, and even had a picnic lunch by the lake.
The time we spent at the resort was even better than our outing. We had a little hay ride, fished, attended a sing-a-long and saw a great (silly) show put on by the staff. They even went our of their way to make "happy hour" live up to its name. There were no kids with our group, but there were lots of things kids would enjoy!
The staff was great: charming, curteous, attentive and energetic. Adella was wonderful. They really went all out to keep us entertained and happy.
The meals were buffet style. Delicious! Plenty of food and a variety of choices.
The resort was built in 1911 - lots of interesting history. The rooms were plain, large and comfortable. There was a small TV. We barely turned it on! After a busy day and lots of good food we were ready for bed and slept well.
We plan on going back. We only wish Wonder Valley were closer - we'd go back a lot!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very pretty place for a wedding.

We did a wedding here this spring and it was a true pleasure. The staff was very accommodating and attentive to all. The facilities were clean and beautiful. This is a great place for stunning wedding photographs.

The banquet room was very comfortable, decorated nice and the food and service were excellent.

This was my first time doing wedding photography here and frankly, I can't wait to go back and do it again.

Let me know what you think.

Robert Henshaw
Artistic Elegance Photography
PO Box 1281 Hanford, Ca 93230
559 362 3461

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanger
25.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
19.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
23.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fowler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Airport Hotel
23.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Express
Piccadilly Inn Express
#24 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6450 Elwood Drive, Sanger, CA 93657
Location: United States > California > Sanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sanger
Hotel Class:2 star — Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up in the Sierra Nevada foothills, above the hustle and bustle, lies Wonder Valley Ranch Resort and Conference Center. You'll find no better place in California; or even the entire Western United States, at providing a more comprehensive and impressive list of facilities and activities for all types of functions. There are few places in this part of the world with these kinds of breathtaking views, even fewer with the space to accommodate a large number of guests, and none who do it as well as Wonder Valley. Whether you're planning a reunion, conference, company retreat, family getaway, or any number of other events, Wonder Valley doesn't just have what you're looking for - it has what you never even knew existed. Wonder Valley Ranch Resort and Conference Center excels in hosting: •Company Retreats •Weddings •Seminars •Class/Family Reunions •Team-Building Exercises •Banquets/Holiday Parties •Picnics •Group Tours •Business/Education Seminars •Outdoor Education •Anniversaries •Proms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder Valley Ranch Hotel Sanger
Wonder Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonder Valley Ranch Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.