We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on the way to Sequoia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School House Restaurant and Tavern

School House Restaurant and Tavern
1018 South Frankwood Ave, Sanger, CA 93657
+1 559-787-3271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Sanger
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In a country school house established in 1921, just north of Reedley and east of Sanger, School House Restaurant & Tavern offers vast array of experiences unlike any other. Watch the game in our country roadside tavern, dinner in our historical dining room a view of the kitchen, or the outdoor fire lounge patio looking out to our gardens at the base of the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The food represents a modern approach to classic dishes we all crave, with a focus on farm fresh, local ingredients. Our service staff is knowledgeable and attentive, yet relaxed and friendly. School House offers an extraordinary dining experience that's not just about food and drink, it's about creating lasting memories.
Hallandale, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on the way to Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

On Route 180, from Fresno, we stopped for a quick lunch, only to discover this restaurant was nicer than just a roadside diner. The seating was inviting. The server, Julie (the "Principal"), was charming and effervescent. She made the meal, which was scrumptious, even more enjoyable. Would we stop here again? In a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this place. (Moscow mules are the best here)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

There are a few places that make an exceptional Moscow mule, and this is the place to have it. I love coming here for brunch with my friends, or for drinks. The customer service is excellent here, they always accomadate the menu to my vegetarian palate. This is a great place to come whether you're with family or friends. I just wished they had vegetarian plates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The best place around.. that's for sure... a special gem in the middle of nowhere. I came up here from Fresno for a special night out. I really loved the decor, the history. The service was excellent and the drinks delicious. A lovely place for a romantic meal.. took our time.. no rush! Had some delicious salmon and really enjoyed the salad here... fresh and crisp. So glad we could have a special night here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I (group of six) had my bday dinner here last night. It was a disappointment. We order appetizers & drinks, salad, main course, and dessert. The time between each course was very long. The appetizers serve two people at best. The beet salad was made from canned beets. The main courses took a long time to come and the food was just average. When you are served your plate it is empty if you order steak. You are only served your steak with a very small side. The desserts were good the bread pudding is excellent! The Sand Box drink was also really good made with blue moon and orange something. At the end of the night our total was $360 which is $60 per person. Gratuity is add on before tax :( it was nice to try this place once but I will never go back for dinner. I would go back for drinks and dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Sanger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is not much to choose from in Sanger but this one fits the bill, offering good food, good service, atmosphere and good wines at very reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School House Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 

Been to School House Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School House Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.