We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn San Ysidro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn San Ysidro to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn San Ysidro
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   643 East San Ysidro Boulevard, San Ysidro, CA 92173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The check in was easy and the front desk clerk was friendly enough. The room and bathroom was clean and the room had a 24" on the wall. The breakfast is where this hotel falls on face, Cheerios and Wheaties the only cereal and muffins and once they ran out no more was put out even when gone by 8:30 and the breakfast wasn't over until 10:00.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Booked a room there last minute on a spur of the moment trip to San Diego from Phoenix. Most of the hotels where pricey for this week convention in town. At $80 and a Rodeway Inn I'm not expecting to receive Westin or W amenities. We had room 105 a/c was cold and room including bathroom was clean. The towels if you need more they want the ones you just used back first. The breakfast is laughable but again why expect more. The property IS close to the border like a street off, and a trolley that runs behind the property that the bells ring and may bother some. Couple blocks from the outlets and less the 10min from a Wal-Mart up the 805 if need be. Plenty places to eat and shop within walking distance. Imperial Beach Pier is 15 min away up interstate 5 and only 20 min from downtown. Never worried about our safety there, lots of familys I seen checking in and out. Just remember it's a Rodeway Inn

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

These people at the front desk are so phony. The room size was okay, bathroom lights where bright but, that is about it. Old 1980's TV set, noisy, paper thin walls, sheet feel like there made out of paper (stiff), all the towels had a yellow tint to them, and some very shady people coming in to this place all night. Not for anyone who want a safe night sleep. Back to the front desk people. We woke up the next day and need to go to Mexico. First we ask if we could leave the car in there lot, also we said we would be back by noon which they said it's no problem. When we got back the woman at the front desk asked if we where staying another night, we told her no. Then her whole face and attitude changed. She told me that next time it would cost me a nights stay because, the car was parked there. Okay I said and when on my way. Will a week later I see this charge on my account for 2 night stay. So she hit me with a extra $61.00 charge. The charges are now in dispute.

Room Tip: If you need to go across the border maybe stay in Chula Vista and pay for the 7 dollar parking behin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Scammed out of a $50 charge on my credit card, they claimed i took all the towels from the room. They probably had a value of five bucks total, and were stiff as if made from wool. If youre looking for a place to stay while attending an event at the amphitheatre beware of this place!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The room was tiny. The AC didn't work -- it only blew hot air on a hot day, and even that failed to reach the bed. The refrigerator had not been cleaned and contained stuff from previous guests. The room appeared to have been renovated--the flat-screen TV was nice--but the AC was definitely from a different era. The trolley on the back side of the hotel made loud noises every time it approached or departed from the end of the trolley line--which was probably every ten to fifteen minutes. I was told no other rooms were available, even though many rooms seemed unoccupied in the front even late at night and the next morning. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, and the bath tub was springy. The big liquid soap dispenser above the tub made it look like it was a public bathroom. The location was quite central, at least for a busy border crossing. Lots of people were walking to or from the border crossing. A large outlet mall is nearby, on the U.S. side. The Internet worked just fine. The neighborhood seemed safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the mountain -- and tracks -- behind the hotel. Check if the AC works as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had to book a last minute trip to San Diego on a very busy end of week and weekend. All the big names places in San Diego were booked or way way too expensive. I took a chance with this place at around $99. I was very pleasantly surprised! My 4th floor room seemed to be recently upgraded, very clean (my greatest fear is a dirty gross place), had free wifi with a decent connection, flat panel TV, foam mattress, and to boot the place had a decent continental breakfast with cereal. The trolley stop was less than 2 blocks away and took me right to the convention center (I was told it also goes right to Petco Park, but there wasn't a game in town when I was there). Also, San Ysidro is right on the border and this place would definitely be a convenient place to stay if you were going across the border to Mexico. All things considered, for the price I give this place 2 thumbs up! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

No reservation, walked up & paid $66.24, he put me on the backside so I could monitor the train whistles. Internet does not work in room 318 (train whistle room) so I recommend not booking into 318 if you need internet. Room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn San Ysidro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Ysidro

Address: 643 East San Ysidro Boulevard, San Ysidro, CA 92173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Ysidro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn San Ysidro 1.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Ysidro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge San Ysidro
Travelodge San Ysidro
San Ysidro Travel Lodge
San Ysidro Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.