We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO RUDE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big SUR California Cafe

Big SUR California Cafe
9290 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
805-927-5258
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in San Simeon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SO RUDE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On Apr 18, I pulled in for breakfast...seeing a sign that advertised for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Although the hours were posted right on the door, and I was there at 9 am, the door was locked. Inside, there was a woman tending to something..she had a dog. I was confused, as the sign said breakfast, but she ignored me until the dog began barking at me. She then looked up and said: "Clearly, we're closed. BYE!!" Wow...you just never know, when you treat people so unkindly, what that particular action might have on their day...Maybe it's like a slap in the face, since you are feeling a little fragile already, due to personal circumstances...and I was :( Would it take so much more energy to smile and say sorry, we are closed? No idea why when the sign advertises 7 am. To the lady (STAFF MEMBER) with the dog, I have one word... KARMA.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great quick breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a place to grab some breakfast before we got on the road. We were the only people in this restaurant that morning. Guy who waited on us was nice and quick. Took our orders and then left us alone until the food was ready which I enjoyed. Seems like it is more of a place big tour buses would stop to have breakfast rather than a local. We got the French toast and the breakfast platter. Food was great although I think it was a tad bit overpriced at ten dollars for eggs toast has browns and sausage. If you re looking for breakfast and just want a breakfast place this is your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOOD!!! GOOD!!! GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant even though it seemed really quite on a friday morning, we took our chanse and walked in here.....the service was great my waitress had a great smile and was very patient with us.....the food was wonderful, i had the ham and chesse omelet and it was the best, and the biggest i have ever tasted. Defenetly will be back for more... Thank you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over priced, but great service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went late for meal with my wife, the waiter was brilliant and the servings large - but it was too expensive for what it was. Clam chowder was good, and the waiter was fantastic, so we left a big tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Much, much better than it looks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place did not look very promising from the outside but we took the chance as it was right next to our motel.
We were glad we did – the food was not fancy but was excellent quality, very well cooked and a sensible price. The salads were large and fresh and the soup homemade. Service matched, not fancy but very well intentioned and prompt.
This is not fine dining (for that see my review of the Bull and Bear at The Waldorf Astoria, Orlando) but it does not set out to be. What you get here are good ingredients, well prepared and promptly served.
After a long, spectacular, drive down The Big Sur in a Mustang convertible the meal here was the cherry on the top of a great day. So good that we returned the following evening after our day at Hearst Castle for second helpings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big SUR California Cafe also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big SUR California Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big SUR California Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.