We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Simeon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Simeon to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Simeon
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9070 Castillo Drive, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nicer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I ended up staying at Motel 6 San Simeon by accident. I had planned to travel to Big Sur from San Francisco and it only struck me as I was about to begin a tour at Hearst Castle that I hadn't booked a hotel for the night (I was trying to be spontaneous). The Motel 6 came up on a mobile app and I decided to take a chance. Considering that it was President's Day weekend, the price was reasonable (and the rest of the weekend was sold out). I arrived at the motel to find it on the wrong side of the highway from the Pacific, but I was tired after a day of driving and touring. The front desk agent was a trainee but still managed to check me in efficiently. I ended up with a second-floor room that allowed me a glimpse of the ocean through some overgrown brush. The room itself surprised me. It was painted in warm orange and was spacious, attractive and well lit. I also tried the onsite restaurant, and the servers proved to be warm and helpful while the food was good. All in all, it was a good value and a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room facing the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    94
    98
    29
    13
See reviews for
71
98
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Hearst Castle and came down and checked into this hotel. Nice staff, very friendly, clean room, comfortable bed...but again...the Motel 6 wifi worked not well at all. We would be on it for 3 minutes and we would get booted out. Again, I think it is important if motels can't guarantee perfect wifi they should say so. We need wifi for our business and it is very frustrating if you have booked a motel thinking you will have 24/7 access.

Room Tip: on the ground floor so you don't have many steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We stayed at this motel during our visit to the Cambria region and Hearst Castle attractions. It is economically a good way to have a large clean room basically furnished that is within easy commute to the region. We stayed here a few years ago and it was good to see that it has had a refurbishment. Paint and furnishings both have been updated and provide your basic comforts at this price point. It is two storey so be aware to request a particular level if required as there are no lifts. As a result of the two storeys, there is also potential for ocean views if you do stay on the second level. This motel does offer complimentary coffee each morning in the foyer. A simple but comfortable offering.

Room Tip: Be conscious of there being no lift to the second storey if this may affect your accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Some of the less-than-great reviews for this place crack me up. It’s a Motel 6 people. For $60 a night, I got a large clean room more or less across the street from the ocean. In fact – my particular room had a little sliver of an ocean view. For $60.

If you’re looking for world class service and luxury – you’re gonna have to spend a little more. But for a nice clean place to sleep for just a little money – AND a decent café for breakfast (Sunset Grill) – you can’t go wrong here...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a small view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We had visitors from New York and wanted them to see Hearst Castle. We booked this motel for 2 nights. Derrick at the front desk was most helpful and assisted us in booking a Motel 6 in Monterey. We had a very comfortable/roomy room and the coffee in the am was great. We also travel with a puppy and she was welcomed by the staff.. Driving to the castle was a snap. Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The rooms are big with 2 double beds. The sheats abd te bathrooms were clean but the floor wasn't. As i walked, i could feel all the dirt under my feet. Prices are reasonable. It is i cheeper option to stay over night, can sty up to 4 people in the room. The internet is free, it gets a little confusing as it asks for payment at the beginning.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We stayed here because we were visiting San Simeon.

We love Motel 6 - clean, cheap (if you book ahead), postage sized swimming pools - more like plunge pools!

We had a massive room with sea views and slept v well. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Simeon

Address: 9070 Castillo Drive, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Simeon - Hearst Castle Area is 6 miles from Hearst Castle and across the street from the ocean! Some rooms offer a partial view of the ocean. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and smoke free rooms. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Motel 6 San Simeon Hearst Castle Area
Motel Six San Simeon
San Simeon Motel 6
San Simeon Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.