We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain and a gem (for a Motel 6)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Simeon

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 San Simeon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Simeon
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9070 Castillo Drive, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Venice, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bargain and a gem (for a Motel 6)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had planned to stay at the Paso Robles Motel 6, but the bad reviews here scared me off. In one of those reviews, someone mentioned they'd absconded to the San Simeon location. It was 40 miles away from where I had to be during the day, but it looked great on paper and was $22 cheaper.

I was not disappointed. The view, the rooms, the staff, the Mexican restaurant across the street — the whole scene was just wonderful. The people at the front-desk were consistently friendly and fun, helping me figure out how to make it across the Pacific Coast Highway without incident, and troubleshooting an internet problem in the middle of the night over the phone. The rooms are more spacious than your average Motel 6, and the sheets less scratchy. The property has the feel of a place that's taken care of and well managed. Plus you can't beat the price: I paid $90 for a two-night stay, including internet. My dogs were welcome and comfy; we had lots of nice walks.

San Simeon is a great a place to stay in this rather expensive Central Coast wine country, and the drive to Paso Robles on the 46 is easy and beautiful — wine tastings every mile! (Not that I partook, mind you; I was driving.) I'd highly recommend this Motel 6 as a comfortable, quiet and safe place to stay any time of year.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    86
    26
    12
See reviews for
61
82
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The motel was almost empty. So we had a quiet night in good beds and a clean room.
The women at the reception are lovely and give good advices.
We really liked this place and will recommend it.
The restaurant in the hotel is more than average. I would recommend you go check out the other ones. Although its convinient when tired.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

San Simeon Motel 6 was a super experience for us :)
We stayed there in September and brought Margie's Pitbull/Boxer mix dog.
The front desk clerk was SO HELPFUL, sorry I forget her name
Rooms were nice, big and clean. Maybe a few places missed the vacuum but no big deal..
Oh, the restaurant on-site is fabulous too, we had the best fish and chips dinner and the morning brunch was so delicious also!

You won't be disappointed :)
Of course you can't beat the price either :)

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor, with the beach view...ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just spent some time in San Simeon, CA. We chose to stay at the Motel 6 as our base of operations (Hearst Castle, Morrow Bay, etc.) for two reasons: First, the price was MUCH lower than other places, and second, we knew that we pretty much needed only a place to sleep. That said, we can say it was appropriately clean. There are pretty much NO amenities such as hair dryer, facial tissues and similar things. The tub was the super slippery (be careful). The tv is an old 13" set. The beds are hard as concrete and not particularly comfortable. There are NO comfortable chairs in the room. The staff was nice. There is a somewhat over priced restaurant there that is open limited hours for breakfast and supper though the food is decent. Free coffee and tea are available in the lobby. Wifi is available for $2 per day and it is SLOW. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay that is pet friendly, you probably want to consider this place.

Room Tip: This is a 2 story place and you may want to choose a west facing, second story room for a limited vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed here a few times, The Staff is Great, Rooms were clean, smelled fresh when we opened room door. The hotel is a "no frills hotel" small tv (cable), no alarm clock, just the basics. But the Price is Right. This Motel 6 has a restaurant that shares the same roof that serves Breakfast & Dinner, this is A Plus; when after a long Drive or Ride (we were on motorcycles) you want to just unpack and grab a bite and relax for the night. Location is quiet, especially after dark, since most tourists driving up & down Highway 1 want to see the beautiful Coastline in the daylight hours. Hearst Castle, Cambria are Minutes away, and Morro Bay a short Drive. If you want Basic Room with a comfortable place to lay your head without leaving you Broke, Its Here! We plan on coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Motel 6 in San Simeon looks & feels rather like a cell block, but if you can get past that 'ambiance', it affords a clean, no frills place to sleep. No frills means -tiny TV-no lid on the toilet-skimpy towels, no fridge, etc. but it is clean and is a low cost accomodation when visiting Hearst Castle and environs. Breakfast is available at adjoining cafe, but you might want to drive into Cambria for something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed with a friend for one night and she was impressed of it. I have been in this motel before years ago and knew about the place, my friend was a little skeptical about staying on a Motel 6 but, since our budget was limited, she agreed. If you are going to visit Hearst Castle, this is your place to set as your base. It is not fancy and does not have over the top amenities but it is clean and comfortable. Be aware of the vending machine, the bottle of water cost $2.50, we put $5 on the machine and never got our waters. Just go to the front desk to report it and they will give you your money back without hesitation. The toilet does not have a lid so be careful since is very easy to accidentally drop your keys or phone...
Overall, don't set your expectations too high if you only want a clean place to get a shower and rest a little bit during your trip along the beautiful Californian Central coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Simeon

Address: 9070 Castillo Drive, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Simeon 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Simeon - Hearst Castle Area is 6 miles from Hearst Castle and across the street from the ocean! Some rooms offer a partial view of the ocean. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and smoke free rooms. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Motel 6 San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Motel 6 San Simeon Hearst Castle Area
Motel Six San Simeon
San Simeon Motel 6
San Simeon Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.