We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn San Simeon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn San Simeon to your Saves list
Quality Inn San Simeon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped around 7 just for the night,their price was reasonable but as soon as we entered the room heavy smell bothered much than carpets were very dirty and bathroom also wasn't cleaned properly.It took me 5 minutes to adjust the water so I could take my shover.I don't know how the other hotels around are but this one definitely needs some renovations.at least to change their carpet.Would look for other option if around again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    46
    24
    28
See reviews for
55
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked our reservation and then I became nervous after reading the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the room clean, the continental breakfast was very good and our host Patricia was awesome. Yes, it was not the fanciest hotel, but was clean and friendly, what more could you ask for. Would I book again? Yes I would!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I have stayed in this motel several times, mostly because of the fine restaurant at the same location. This time I felt that the general maintenance and upkeep had improved and was overall quite pleased with my experience. Breakfast was barely adequate, but in fairness, it's hard to find a motel which does breakfast well. I'll stay here again, but the Manta Rey restaurant is still the big draw for me.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 304 cities Reviews in 304 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

non memorable stay, not great, not bad just there, staff friendly, breakfast reasonable, good sized room, easy parking, restaurants nearby. Last year I stayed across the road at the best western which was a better experience.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

On our drive down the California coast and, after checking several hotels in the Cambria and San Simeon areas online, we decided on Quality Inn because of the price. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, room spacious and lacked for nothing. The restaurant food was yummy and fairly priced. All in all it was a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Not bad as such hotels go. An average room upstairs with no elevator (sigh!) but tempered by a very friendly staff you can't help but like. I don't know if this is the proper place to say it, but a lot of this type of hotels are run as franchises, so you see a lot of family-type operations. It's kind of like big city taxicabs, if you catch my drift. Sometimes you feel appreciated as a customer in one of these, and sometimes you feel barely tolerated. Fortunately, this was a very nice experience with a very friendly staff, helped by the fact of a restaurant attached.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Patricia at Front Desk very helpful. Breakfast had the usual stuff but well stocked with fresh fruit, "sticky buns", bread, cereal, and a waffle maker. TV not crystal clear but on the coast reception.
Rooms large but average.

Room Tip: Several motels to choose from now days in San Simeon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Address: 9260 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.