We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Package Deal!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn San Simeon

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn San Simeon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9260 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Woodbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Package Deal!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Booked this motel on a package deal. I guess for the price, we could not beat it. The staff were friendly and the rooms were comfy and clean. They offered a Continental Breakfast which consist of coffee, pastries, waffles, cereals and juices. Our package deal came with two dinner vouchers at their restaurant and two tickets for 1 tour at Hearst Castle. Overall, good place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    41
    22
    25
See reviews for
48
72
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is our favourite hotel that we stayed in whilst in America. We did get a room upgrade to one of the rooms overlooking the sea...but boy was it worth it. The room was spacious, comfortable and had a wood burner which we made use of that night as it got pretty chilly.
The minibar is packed with food and drink and is the best value of anywhere we have ever stayed. They also had a good quality coffee maker and toiletries.
At night they light fires on the beach which you can go sit next to, and it was lovely to go to sleep and wake up listening to the sea.
We found our room to be very clean and neat.

The restaurant food is ok, diner kind of fare reasonably priced. The staff are great and really friendly. Free plentiful parking. There is also a laundrette and small exercise area on site although we didn't use these.

Good location if you are driving up the coast towards San Fran...its about half way between La and SF...Also Hearst Castle is nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Motel needs work. We did not have a reservation on the night we stopped here and were glad to have a place to sleep. However there was no air conditioning in the room and we had to leave the sliding glass door open leaving us very vunerable to intruders. I would expect carpets to be clean, but were well beyond cleaning. The bed was good but the pillows were awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is nothing special, with the only exemption been the rooms on the second floor overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and spectacular sunset views. However I have to warn you that the cleanliness in the room could be a lot better. For example:

- Carpet was heavily stained and it showed quite dirty
- There were dust underneath the bed, gum and trash that wasn’t mine. (I was not inspecting the room, but It was visible from where I was sitting while on my computer.
- The Bathtub was stained, and the shower panel quite old.

On the other hand here are some conveniences of this hotel:

- Restaurant on site is convenient, but prices are stiff, and the food isn’t the best, service however was good.
- Heated Pool
- Free WI-FI (This is a must for me)
- Free Breakfast (Cannot say much since I did not eat breakfast here)

I’m still debating whether or not I would come back to this place. I guess most probably not as I would prefer I cleaner hotel even if I have to drive a little for another amazing sunset.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor so that you can watch the sunset from your own room balcony. I also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I first stayed here several years ago and it was a good basic place to stay. This time we were looking for a good simple place for a 1 night stay and we choose here.

The hotel has had a great makeover since I stayed here first time, it feels modern, fresh, and clean.

5 of us stayed in a room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. There was enough space for all of us. The room was very clean and had everything we needed including a separate shower / toilet room.

The pool areas was large enough for many families to sit around the pool. In the evening there was a BBQ near the poolside and the food was very good with the most expensive item being $6. There was also a Happy Hour bar from 5:30-7:30pm. Many drinks were free, other drinks could be purchased.

The only downside was that the bar closed once Happy Hour was over, it wold be great if this could changed.

We only planned to stay for 1 night but we would've been happy to stay longer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Less than 10 minutes from Hearst Castle along HWY 1. Around $150 per night, lower than other hotels. No thrill. Spacious room, clean bathroom, with all essentials. Pillows smaller than normal. Wifi does not work well, too weak. Short distance to Moonstone Beach where more choices of restaurants. No air conditioning. Have to open window slightly at night. If hot day/night, this may not be a good place. Free continental breakfast is good touch. If you do not want to spend too much for hotel, this one will satisfy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Going to Hearst Castle next morning, so we decided to stay at this hotel during our mid summer trip in 2012.
It was a two stories hotel. They assigned 2nd floor rooms to us, but there's NO elevator.
The room is spaciou, nice ,and clean, however, the room has NO A/C. My kids felt too hot to fall a sleep.
The bathroom is ok, but very small. The hair dryer was not working but someone came to replace it right after we called the front desk.
The fridge was not cold enough to freeze our blue ice over night.
We didn't use the microwave.
Some TV channels were not in good viewing quality.
The celling light is control by the switch at the entrance, but the plugs near the celling light turned off after we turned off the light, which we didn't know, so our pc and ipad was not charged over night.
They offer free continental breakfast: Coffee, tea, milk, apple juice, orange juice, hot water, Quaker instant flavored oat meal, poppy seed muffins, banana nuts muffins, blueberry muffins, jelly danish, toasts, English muffin bread, hard broil eggs, waffle maker for hot waffles, ......., and some fresh fruits. It was not bad.
Over all, I think this hotel was over priced, but you don't have much choice in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for first floor if you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Address: 9260 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.