We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtesy Inn San Simeon to your Saves list
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9450 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very basic hotel and needs some work. Stayed here 10 days ago. Bathroom was really old with patched paint and just very tired. Did the job , though with two queen beds and was a reasonable price. I can't change the ratings on the browser at the moment, but nothing above two dots !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    96
    41
    37
See reviews for
100
107
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing going on in San Simeon, so there is less to do except long distance beach walking. So if you´re looking for that, this is the place. If not, go ahead to Morro Bay. The Motel rooms are spacious and nice furnitured. Free WIFI, but breakfast not included. Indoor pool available! Staff is straight, but that´s okay for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spend one night in this motel near San Simeon when on a road trip along Highway 1. The motel is located in an area with some other motels and some very (basic) restaurants. It can be a slightly depressing area and if you've the choice and can spend a little more, I recommend staying in Cambria, which is much nicer. However, Courtesy Inn was a decent place, very large room with two comfortable beds, even a view on the Pacific Ocean and all necessary amenities were present, including free wifi. Given the price we paid we were happy customers at Courtesy Inn and if you just need a basic place to stay while enroute, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I the older roadside motels and try to stay in them as often as possible. This is one of those. Our room had two large picture windows on separate walls with one of them looking towards the ocean. The room was very clean and had a king size bed and we felt very privileged. After a late visit to Hearst Castle, we were very pleased to be able to obtain a room of this quality.
Unfortunately, the exterior of the motel is quite shabby with a need for new outdoor carpeting and perhaps some more paint. But, don't be deceived by these superficial appearances. It is very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Its located near Hearst Castle, which makes it an ideal stop for highway one vacation cruisers. It is located near the beach (just cross the road), has a couple of restaurants nearby and a small shop. The room was really spaceous, althouh a bit dusty which is my only complaint. All and all, more and better than we expected. I don't agree at all with the negative comments on this priceworthy Motel with a great view!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warstein, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in a room which seems to be brand new! Everything nice and clean, abolutely nothing to complain.Free coffee and WiFi. Nice pool and rest area. We were just on our way to LA but would always stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lets get one thing straight, this place is a stop off between SF and LA, nothing more. It is a row of hotels and restaurants and a pretty shabby beach. This said though the hotel was nice. Quick check in and out, large room with a very comfy bed, stone age TV though but wasnt there to watch that. The bar attached was nice, had a kareoke event going on and some of the locals turned up who were nothing but friendly and nice. Would i stay here again? No. But thats only because i would drive on the extra few miles to San Luis Obispo.

There was also a good restaurant straight opposite on the other side of the road but the name escapes me now, its nest to the best western on the end of the row.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Address: 9450 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtesy Inn San Simeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.