We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

This property is fantastically maintained, has lots of room space, and is right on the oceanfront. All the other accommodations in San Simeon are either across the freeway away from the ocean or do not have immediate oceanfront access. This resort has lots of little perks -- a jacuzzi, two swim pools, fire huts along its property to keep you warm while you look over the ocean, and a nice restaurant. The place is clean, friendly, and low-key. A great escape.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    499
    105
    37
    9
See reviews for
369
898
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

This hotel was fine for our one night stayover in San Simeon. The room was a little dated, but very spacious. The bed was huge, and very comfortable.

The restaurant served good dinner and breakfast.

At sunset, the hotel lights small fires along the coast, and it is incredible sittting by the fire, just listening to the waves crash in.

Had the benefit of being located on the coast, only a short drive from Hearst Castle.

  • Liked — Sunset bonfires
  • Tips/Secrets — Get an ocean view room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We have stayed at the Cavalier several times, and this time again, we loved it. If you stay in the King's Row facing the ocean, your view is nothing but water and the grassy bluff with the bonfires going every evening. The room is spacious. I never go barefoot in any hotel room, so I wasn't worried about getting dirty feet, as one reviewer did. Room service for breakfast was fast and friendly and the food was good. Staff brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne and two flutes the first evening, which was such a pleasant touch. The champagne was not very good, but we had our own anyway. It's true that there is nothing to do but stare at the ocean, but this is a perfect spot from which to explore the wine region out the 46 and to go to Templeton to have lunch at McPhee's, the best restaurant around. I will always stay at the Cavalier when in the Cambria/San Simeon area. But without the ocean view room, it would be very ordinary. The view is what makes this place special.

  • Liked — The ocean view
  • Disliked — The bouncy bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Youi must pay the price for the ocean view, otherwise stay elsewhere
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

We did the highway 1 ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles. I am very picky, and love ocean views. We had ocean views in every hotel, but the Cavalier was my favorite. We stayed in room 273, which is in the building furthest south on the property. This building is the closest to the water. We were so close to the surf, I felt I could touch it. The room was very clean, spacious, and inviting. But, I could not leave the deck. Because the room had a floor to ceiling sliding glass door opening onto the deck, the ocean could be seen and heard all night long from the bed. Wonderful! I could spend a week here!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We felt we were slightly mislead when we arrived as we had been told our room would be more than what turned out to be the standard room and extra tiny room that comprised our "family suite". The beds were so small our middle daughter had to sleep on the floor.
No matter, for the first night we had a nice dinner and good breakfast served by friendly staff.
The second day was not so good. The "suite" was too cramped for 5 and above the car park, so the fact that we had to leave our window open because of no a/c made it noisy. Breakfast was a disaster with 2 meals arriving after 3 of us had finished (and gone back to the room) burnt toast, no drink refills and a haphazard and uncaring service. They did take the meal off the bill however as it was virtually inedible. One of these things you can take in your stride but not all together!
It was ok for what it was but don't expect anything marvellous from the standard rooms

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I really wanted to stay in Cambria but couldn't get a room. The Cavalier was a great hotel. I'm so glad we didn't stay in Cambria, the views wouldn't have been nearly as good. We ate dinner in Cambria most nights. We had an oceanfront room with a balcony and my teenage daughter watched the surfers for hours. The beds were very comfortable, the room clean, fitness center and pool were good, evening bonfires a nice touch, good swimming beach, friendly and helpful front desk staff and the restaurant was good. The wait to be seated for breakfast was a true indicator of how good the restaurant was. The oceanfront rooms are a must and I loved being on the second level. Don't hesitate book this hotel.

  • Liked — balcony and view
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martins ferry, oh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed at the Cavalier after a beautiful drive down the coast. The location is wonderful. We stayed in an ocean view room, and were able to sit on the deck and enjoy the ocean and the fires built along the beach in the evening. The room also had a wood burning fireplace which was a real treat on a chilly evening. We loved the view so much we didn't want to leave so we ordered room service. I was amazed at the reasonable price for a lovely dinner. The hotel is clean and the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend this property!

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.