We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of its high rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, CA, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Deserving of its high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

Had previously stayed at the Motel 6 in San Simeon, but decided to take a step up as my parents were visiting. I got a good corporate rate on the BW Cavalier that brought it into range of the other places in town and it was definitely worth it. Staff were welcoming (although the warning I had to sign about materials hazardous to one's health was a little disconcerting), room was a nice size, very quiet, beds were comfy. The topper was the view and the little extras - the binoculars in the room, the fire pits on the bluff, the whale watching telescopes, even the fact that it had a reasonably priced minibar and snack selection, a rarity in any hotel but particularly one of this class.

The beach in front of the hotel was small and a bit seaweedy, not really ideal walking although lots of people were out before dinner. The pools and hot tubs looked nice and they seemed to be well used even in the rainy weather - but you'll be pleased to hear that we heard no noise from them despite having rooms right above.

Hearst Castle was just 3 miles up the road, Cambria a few miles down the road, making this a great stopping point on a trip down Highway 1.

I am not sure I would have paid the full price for this room ($180 compared to Motel 6's $44), but with my corporate rate I got the room at around $110 and for that, it was well worth it. Will stay here again if I am passing through.

Dinner at the Sow's Ear in Cambria was very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    548
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
397
1,006
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

We found out about this place in a Lonely Planet book. We took a risk and booked it, as we only needed a bed for the night.

We fell in love with the place as soon as we got there. We immediately arranged to stay for an extra night!

The staff was friendly, the view was incredible, loved the fires on the beach, the marshmellows, the restaurant. We had discoverd a slice of heaven :)

The pool is heated. My son even used it, in the middle of Winter.

Our only regret was that we didn't get to spend more time there. It was such a relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cavalier Oceanfront Resort for a night in conjunction with touring the Hearst Castle.

We arrived late after a very long drive from San Francisco, and were pleased with the warm reception we received at the front desk - extremely friendly and accommodating!

Our room was on an upper floor with oceanfront view. The room was clean, well kept and inviting. We enjoyed the fireplace in the room as well. Internet connectivity was excellent and fast.

We were pleased to find that this hotel offered room service - a rarity in this area. In addition, the onsite restaurant offered a good breakfast menu.

This is a very nice Best Western - but don't expect the Ritz or Four Seasons, because it simply does not exist in San Simeon.

We look forward to staying again, and returning to take another tour of the incredible Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

We were pleasantly suprirsed with this hotel. After 2 nights of camping in Big Sur, we stopped overnight here and went to Hearst Castle the next day (smelling much better). The hotel is right on the oceanfront, has a wonderful lawn/bluff area with outdoor fireplaces, chairs, and benches, and was just plain nice. We were expecting much less for the price and for a Best Western!!!! The front desk staff were all very nice. When they found out it was our honeymoon, they sent over a bottle of champagne! They also had a DVD player in our room, and provided rentals free of charge. If we ever find ourselves going this way again, we will definitely stay here. It was probably one of our best hotel experiences to date :o)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

Drving up the Pacific Coast Highway again and approaching this hotel, I remembered how I felt the first time. Please do not be put off by appearances. It may resemble a standard motel but the beauty of this place runs far more than skin deep.

Checking in and the staff were their usual polite, helpful selves. The rooms were as I expected, clean but dated and equipped with a very comfortable bed. Then the hotel played it's trump card as I walked down the bluff for the first time and stood facing the waves as they roared in across the Pacific Ocean and pounded away up the beach. If you can, book a room that faces onto the ocean - if you are really brave there is a smaller block of rooms separate from the main hotel that is just a few metres from the edge of the bluff - but it is still a wonderful place to stay even if you cannot.

The on site restaurant is fine - clean and serves a reasonable variety of freshly prepared food - but be aware that this hotel stands in a fairly isolated location. That is, of course, part of it's attraction.

If I ever have the opportunity - that is if I can ever find an excuse - I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverjym
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

If only all Best Western properties came even close to this one! Immaculate grounds and room--our room even had small live decorated Christmas tree in it. Friendly staff and five minutes to entrance of Hearst Castle. On-site restaurant quite good with reasonable prices for a resort area. Beach is very short walk from room but is not a swimmable beach. Even though property is close to Highway 1 there was no traffic noise in the room. Bathroom with tub small but immaculate. I looked at all other close-by properties but this one was superior.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

This was my first time at this hotel and it was wonderful. We stayed December 27 & 28. My sister and I lucked out and got the handicapped room in the main building that looked right out on the ocean. My parents stayed in Kings Row, all looking out onto the ocean with patios and fireplaces.

Our room was great, and the bathroom HUGE. Much nice than your typical Best Western. There was also free wireless access in our building. Right out the door is a grassy area with firepits to sit around in the evening, and the beach is only a few more steps away.

The restaurant there is not bad - we had good meals for both breakfast and dinner there. Right next door to the hotel is a terrific little Italian restaurant that you must go to if you stay there.

This hotel is only a couple miles away from Hearst Castle and the elephant seals. When we arrived the seals were giving birth right on the beach!

I think this is one of the best places to stay in the area and the prices aren't bad at all!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.