We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right on the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This could have been a 5 if it weren't for the desk clerk. The hotel is very pretty, right on the ocean. rooms were quiet and comfortable. Breakfast wasn't included but the restaurant made a very good one. At night they had fires on the beach and you were able to meet lots of different people while enjoying some wine or beer (BYOB). We ordered room service for dinner. Appetizers were excellent however we also ordered a pizza which arrived completely uncooked. We called room service and the only option she would give us was they would cook us another (although we didn't really want another). Anyway they brought it to us rather quickly and while it was cooked this time it was just awful. The crust wasn't inedible. I brought it with us to check out as I wanted it off my bill. The desk clerk barely said 2 words, she did take it off the bill but no apology, no thanks for staying or anything. She was also the same clerk the day before giving the man in front of us a hard time. Wish I got her name. However I would stay here again-I just would never order the pizza

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    873
    440
    86
    33
    8
See reviews for
319
781
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Supposed to get a 2nd floor room, but upon arrival it was a first floor. When I informed them, the staff simply said "there are never promises of a 2nd floor room but we can move you tomorrow." No A/C and couldn't sleep with sliding glass door open for safety reason, so we sweltered all night. The next day they made us check-out and re-checkin for the new room. They told us that they would make cleaning the room a priority. They didn't. Even though most of the rooms were cleaned and people were waiting to check in, we had to sit in the lobby for 2 hours for our room to be cleaned. We couldnt take a shower or get ready for our reservations at Hearst Castle. When we finally got into the room at 2, we decided to take a nap until 2:45 before getting ready. At 2:30 a "fireplace maintenance worker" knocked on our door twice as he opened the door. We popped out of bed immediately as we found him already at the foot of our bed. Furious, I called the manager on duty who said, well, I'll have a talk with him about giving guests more time to get out of bed. And that was that. Nice hotel, nice area, accepts dogs, but I will never stay there again. There are other choices right there that I will try first.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel is the best in the San Simeon area. The rooms are wonderful and have ocean views. The restaurant next door is 4 Star. The hotel staff builds bon fires at sunset so you can enjoy the fire and watch the sun go down. A VERY pleasant way to end the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was quite happy with the value of this hotel overlooking the beautiful central coast of California. The room were spacious and clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful answering any questions and making suggestions. Nice hotel/good price. Have already visited it a second time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

BW Cavalier is fortunate to have one of the few oceanfront properties in the area And they know it. Just check their summer rates.
It is, after all a Best Western and not a Marriott, The hotel is a little tired, - Most of it layed out motel style. A whopping $200 per night, However if they decide to renovate or repair at some point, , it will probably be totally unaffordable.

Pros - proximity to the ocean; & Fire Pits nightly. Free wifi in the rooms.
Cons; Paint peeling off window sill. Squeaky fan; No air conditioning; No mini fridge. If we were to return we'd most likely look for a home rental.
Slow check in,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend visiting Hearst Castle. We both agreed that it was really the hotel that made the weekend! This is not your ordinary Best Western - it is truly a cut above. We had an Oceanfront room on the second story with a fireplace and private balcony. There is a small patch of grass directly beneath the balcony, then a bluff, and then the beach. It puts all of the waterfront hotels in Cambria to shame, since they all have a road separating the hotels from the beach - this is the real deal!

We checked in and were greeted by two very kind and professional women in the lobby. Once we got to our room and saw the proximity to the ocean and the amazing view, we decided to get dinner to go and eat it on our balcony so that we could enjoy the sunset while watching the ocean waves. After dinner, we went down to the fire pits that the hotel lights each night - all we needed were the ingredients for s'mores and we would have been set!

The next morning we decided to order room service for breakfast so that we could again enjoy our meal outside on the balcony. The hotel provides binoculars so that you can watch all of the marine animals in action. It was quite a serene setting and such a relaxing way to start a day.

We spent the day touring Hearst Castle, then returned to our room around 4:30. We had heard people at the fire pits the night before discussing the fact that they had seen whales and dolphins from their balconies the day before. As we made our way up to our room, we could see lots of dolphins very close to shore, and they were jumping and spinning - what a treat! We were so mesmerized watching them that we again went to our balcony and used our binoculars. We watched the dolphins until they moved on, and we also watched the sea otters playing in the water.

The hotel provides plenty of amenities - our room had a private balcony and a fireplace (which we didn't get to use due to the warm weather). The room came fully stocked with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, cotton balls, Q-tips, bathrobes, nail polish remover, laundry bag, and more. The minibar is fully stocked. The beds were comfortable.

The walls were plenty soundproof - we didn't hear a sound from our neighbors, although I know the rooms were all occupied.

The hotel is a pet friendly hotel, and we noticed quite a number of guests visiting with dogs.

We never got to use the hot tub, but I'm sure we would have loved it!

The only negative about the hotel was the fact that there is no air conditioning. When we first arrived, the room was hot and stuffy. We left the balcony door open for the rest of our visit to keep the fresh air flowing. We slept with our balcony door open for the breeze (and had to turn up our TV to hear it over the waves, and then use ear plugs to sleep with the balcony door open and the waves so close.) I tend to get very claustrophobic without air circulation, so the lack of air conditioning was a big concern to me at first, but it was lovely with the balcony door open and the gentle breeze. For this reason, I could only stay at this hotel if I had a second floor room - I would have been in trouble on that warm weekend with no air conditioning if I had a first floor room and couldn't leave the balcony door wide open.

Be sure to book using your AAA card for a discounted rate!

We will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront room on the second floor, and be sure to use your AAA card for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Considering the dodgey, inconsistent reviews of the available places to stay in Cambria, driving an extra 5 minutes makes this Best Western an excellent alternative.

If you’re going to see Hearst’s Castle, its closer than staying in Cambria. And its just a short drive if you want to go back to the little town of Cambria for its shopping and restaurants.

Its not quite as high-end looking as the website makes it look but it is very nice, clean and comfortable with free laundry facilites. It does have the firepits on the cliff as advertised as well as fireplaces (our room did, can’t vouch for all of the rooms).

Don’t go for the expensive breakfast option, there are plenty of places to get something to eat as you drive further north along the coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.