We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Lake Worth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I did a cross country trip and stayed at 13 hotels in 16 days. This was one of our favorites. We loved the room, the staff and the entire atmosphere. We especially enjoyed sitting around the fire with other guests and also enjoyed our dinner at the hotel restaurant immensely. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    791
    399
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
280
701
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnemucca, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love this place. It is everything in on ocean stay you may want. You can walk the sandy beach just down a few stairs or stay up on the hill and walk on the paths. There are bench to seat and watch the sea. There are two restaurants to walk to. The room, if you stay in it, is nice and comfy. Take some mashmellows they light fires in at least 3 outdoor fire places. This is my 2nd time in this area I will stay at this place again they know how to take care of you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

On our arrival at check in we where asked to sign a disclaimer which stated there was products that could cause cancer and we would not sue at a later date instant turn off , when we got to our room the window was dingy on opening the door there was a smell that was so over powering it smelt like the toilet , needless to say we did not even bother staying at this hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On our 15 day vacation every Best Western Plus we stayed in provided nice complimentary breakfasts but not this place. In addition to being overly pricey to stay here the room and the bath were crowded compared to other Plus hotels e stayed in. The on-site restaurant was super expensive so don't plan on eating there unless you want to fork out a lot of extra money. The location is ideal but for us it was just a bed to sleep in so we could be on the road the next morning. I wouldn't stay there again unless I had to because there are several other hotels in the same location that would have been a better choice.

Room Tip: If you choose a room that "has a view" it is costly - over $300. Our room didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our Central Coast trip for Spring Break. I booked it because of the reviews, the fact that it is oceanfront and its proximity to Hearst Castle. We received a second floor room in the main building attached to the lobby/ registration desk. It was not an ocean front room, but from the sitting area window we had a slight glimpse of the sea.

Rooms were a bit tired looking and dim. The furnishings and carpeting could use some updating. It was not terrible, but not the greatest Best Western Plus property I have stayed at. It is your traditional motor inn/ motel set up with outdoor hallway entries. My chief complaint was the noise you can hear from other guests running or walking loudly in the outside corridors. The walls are paper thin and every time someone closed (or slammed) their door, we felt it. This was on the second floor-- not sure how the folks on the ground level felt. For the Plus designation, I expected more: perhaps a mini fridge that was cold and had room to actually store things instead of mini bar items, a microwave maybe and a simple included breakfast like most other properties.

We ate breakfast one morning at the onsite restaurant and it was just ok. Not better than your average IHOP or Denny's. I purchased milk for my kids there in the evening and was charged $2.50 for a plastic kid cups worth. Maybe I should have gone across the street to the mini mart, but again, the mini bar fridge left no room for storage.

On the positive, the location is good. Hearst Castle and Cambria are a few minutes away. The beach in front of the property is isolated and pretty for strolling. Too many sand flies to sit and bask. The hotel does provide generous toiletries such as make-up remover towelettes, feet wipes, sewing kits, etc. which is rare these days in hotels. There is a very large in-room safe which is convenient for large cameras and laptops. Our room had a Keurig with an ample supply of pods which was a nice touch. If I am back in these parts, I might try and stay up the street in Moonstone Beach in Cambria.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location. Very clean. Pleasant staff. Checkout time is 12:00 which is nice. We have stayed at this location quite a few times and recommend it. Very quiet and peaceful. The proximity to the ocean and beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

nice property good location rooms are very small, clean and on the beach.
it isn't the cheapest place and would have expected a little more for the price
the room has a fridge but its a minibar that is full, locked and expensive, no breakfast, the onsite restaurant is expensive (4$ for a small box of cereal??) and was told for dinner they are full with a large group better off driving to town to look for a place.

as i said, overall ok, just expected more for my near 200 bucks...... maybe he problem is with me for having high expectations....

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.