We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Cavalier is just one of the most relaxing places you can be. The oceanfront rooms have everything you need. Comfortable, quiet. The sunsets are just beautiful as you watch the fore pits light all along the beach for people to gather. My only regret was I only was staying two nights. Will visit again as soon as possible. They have a restaurant next door that is adequate but I opted to visit the Cambria farmers market the next day and bring some of the best things I could find back to the room and just enjoy the sunset from the rockers on my balcony. Don't miss this little slice of heaven if your in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    547
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
397
1,005
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here! Extremely clean, very comfortable beds and pillows, unlimited Keurig coffee and firewood for the fireplace! Lots of little extras that we were impressed with. Restaurant also delivers with no extra charge. Views were incredible and made even better by the binoculars in our room. Very relaxing and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a room on second floor with a balcony - some of the first floor patios looked out to brick w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night along our PCH trip in March 2014. We were pleasantly surprised! We reserved a standard room and upon arrival, we were upgraded to an ocean front room! The room was clean and bedding was comfortable. They had fire pits located on the water, so you could stay warm and watch the sun set. They have a restaurant onsite, which was reasonably priced and had very good food.

The only downside to our stay... we are from the East Coast and accustomed to air conditioner. Our room was on ground level and the only way to keep it cool in our room was to either sleep with the sliding door open or they have a little window to the side that you could open. We weren't going to sleep with the sliding door open, for our own safety. So we opened the little window (2x3) and had the ceiling fan on high. Needless to say, around 11-11:30pm they must have pored water on the bonfires or they just went out, but our entire room was engulfed with smoke. After about an hour or so, it went away. But woke up several times drenched in sweat.

We would definitely stay here again, but on the second floor and perhaps during cooler weather.

Room Tip: Choose a room on second or higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Everything wonderful from beginning to end - stayed couple of days in late March. Setting, room, service/staff, restaurant all great. Really nice touches such as outdoor firepits - they were even lit in the light rain one night - robes in room, food excellent, I/we could go on and on. Have traveled lots of places in the States over the years, business and pleasure, and cannot remember a more pleasant experience. Especially a great value with winter rates too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem! Five stars. My wife and I stayed in the ocean front room with a fireplace and watched the waves for hours. It felt like we were just above the waves (because we were). I would recommend this for any couple, great place for anyone getting married on the central coast. Could also be a fun spot for a family with the beach just feet away. I would highly, highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadow Hills, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was perfect, all rooms with balcony ocean front views. Front lawn connects directly to beach. Open air fire pits and in room fireplace complete with complementary fire starting wood and flame pack. Bring marshmallows! Room new and clean with complimentary Water, Keurig coffee machine, Wifi, binoculars for vista viewing, packed minibar/fridge with snacks. Heated pool x 2 with jacuzzi. On site restaurant delicious and reasonable price - went for dinner and breakfast. All staff very friendly. Close to Hearst Castle, Morro Bay (Beaches sandy and beautiful) quaint town of Cambria, and San Luis Opispo. Highly Recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Pick the balcony ocean view rooms. I did see 2 buildings at the entrance that did not have ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

You never get tired of watching the sun set here. This hotel is a destination for us. We have stayed here while traveling up or down our beautiful California coast and this time we spent two nights here just to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The first night we sat on one of the benches to watch the beautiful sunset. Afterwards they light fires in the chimneys on the property and you get to chat with people from all over the world. We met people from Canada and from other parts of California--it's the best part of the evening.They have lights that shine on the ocean so you can see the waves at night.

We no longer get upgraded to the newer section of the property even though we are platinum members. We used to but now they normally charge so much to stay here that sometimes we can't afford to stay here. The older section is nice though. They have a nice restaurant on the property as well.This is the first time we have come here in March. We will still come back if it is not too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.