We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here many times. It is right on the beach, not across a street from the beach. Rooms are nicely appointed and the staff is very helpful. If you stay on the second floor of "Kings Row" or the "Terrace" you can keep the patio doors open and let the sound and smell of the ocean lull you to sleep. Add the fact that this resort is incredibly dog friendly, you can't miss enjoying your stay here. Also, great for starting or ending a day in Big Sur or touring Hurst Castle.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    548
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
398
1,008
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wow. This is such a nice place to stay. Located by the shore with an expansive area. Rooms are very clean and furnished appropriately. The largest security safe I have ever seen in a hotel. No Breakfast because there is a full service restaurant on the property. Ate our evening meal there the first night. Our waiter, Jorge, was the best waiter we have ever experienced. He has worked there for 30 years. There also is a housekeeper that has been there for 36 years. Speaks to the quality of this establishment and how they treat their employees. That translates to excellent customer service. Would definitely recommend. Staff excellent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel was on the beach, Walkable to the sand and water. Hotel had 3 fire pits for a very nice evening to meet other guest and listen to the waves. Room was very nice with a surprise after check in on first day. A bottle of champagne, which we drank. Just one of the better hotel stays we have had in a long time with a very good price. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This trip was over Valentine's weekend, however, our stay was for my Husband's birthday. He loved how close the hotel is from the beach and that we were able to take our "drinks" down to the fire pits. Overall, we really did not want to leave. We will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay at on Highway 1. Its right b Hearst Castle and I have stayed here many times. Its a great place to relax and every night the have outdoor fireplaces going next to the beach.
There are choices of staying right next to the water which costs more and having a very good ocean view from a room further away. There aren't alot of restaurants in the area, but the mexican restaurant within walking distance is very good. There are elephant seals in the area to watch and a lighthouse up the road. There are a couple of cities close by to visit and Big Sur is close by to visit. Winter time has lower rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Ocean or if you want to be right next to the waves ask for the Ocean F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beach is very close to rooms. Fire pits are a great feature. Friendly staff. After walking about a mile to scope out other nearby restaurants, we ended up eating at the Cavalier restaurant at our hotel BOTH nights, and the food was great!! My boyfriend had seafood and ribs and said they were delicious. I had spaghetti the second night, and it was one of the best spaghetti dishes I have EVER had (surprised because it wasn't even an Italian restaurant). Dessert, wine, and salads were really good, too. I love the atmosphere and scenic surroundings of this hotel. Came in 2012 for a mellow bachelorette party and LOVED it, too. Definitely will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Over the last 35 years we have stayed here many times. The resort stays "new' through timely renovations, big and small.
The location cannot be beat. Most rooms face the ocean over a large sand/grass area where there are open fireplaces that staff light each night. Bit of a narrow path to the beach but then you can walk in either direction for miles.
Rooms are large, have fireplaces and most have decks or patios. You can hear the surf from your room. Love that the resort is proud of their staff, many have been there over 20 years.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front/view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.