We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront beauty, small hotel feeling & attention to detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity BestWestern.com
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Rio del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oceanfront beauty, small hotel feeling & attention to detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Celebrated my 70th B.d. & 32nd Anniversary. Welcome champagne, and greeting. Rockers on ocean view deck, fireplace, robes, binoculars, A family run jewel on the central coast. Dog friendly w/lots of space to walk & clean up bags provided. Definitely a return trip soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    789
    399
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
280
700
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Best Western Cavalier is about the best deal going for quality and view. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (recently remodeled) and you can't beat the location and views. It is the only place to stay in San Simeon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It had been over 20 years since my last visit and they are as friendly and accommodating now as they were in the past. I was very impressed to open up the Hotel Guest book and find that the family owned property identified people that have been there for years. Where is this industry to you see people who have been in the same hospitality location for 35+ years. One can tell that the staff family is treated well and it shows. The property is right on the ocean and when you open the sliding doors onto a patio or deck you hear the sound of the ocean. With the fire place in the room you can fall asleep to a burning fire and the sound of the waves. The rooms are well maintained, bed and linen are very comfy and high quality. The rooms are equipped with robes, iron, mini bar as well as guest robes. The room was ocean view with wood burning fireplace and great flat screenTV. This was a birthday visit so when we arrived there was a chilled bottle of bubbly awaiting and not COOKS, thank goodness. In the evening there are fire pits lit where you can sit and enjoy the sound of the ocean. A little bit chilly for me so I could enjoy them from the room and next to my own fire in the fireplace. There is an area of rooms called the Terrace and on my last visit that is where my room was located. They are more expensive, but worth the additional charge to be in a room right over the ocean. Suggest you splurge although this room was also comfy and cozy. There is a main area of the hotel and I am uncertain what view they have but I would suggest at the least requesting Ocean view. My room was overlooking the pool and I noticed that there were chairs to permit disabled access to the pool and the spa. I think that is great and often overlooked. If there is any criticism I have it is the restaurant. The seating is tight, chairs much like office side chairs and not very comfortable. Food was just ok and not inexpensive. There are just too many other choices for dinning although there is room service from the restaurant if you have a late arrival and are pooped.

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms are right over the ocean and worth the splurge. Ocean view rooms are nice as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me as a place to relax and enjoy the scenery, and it was exactly as represented. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make my wife's birthday weekend special. Watching the sunset while gazing at the waves crash against the beach, all from the comfort of my room created an unforgettable memory. Stroll along the hotel property as well as on the beach, as the hotel is right on the waterfront, added to the relaxing weekend. The room was very clean and comfortable. On a brisk fall evening, the fireplace in the room, made the room very cozy. Lots of thought and detail was put into the room to ensure that guest(s) are well taken care of during a stay at the hotel. This is a place that I definetly plan to return to for the tranquility and beauty that is so simply combined during a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A relaxed and peaceful hotel right on the water. Perfect place for an overnight stop-over when driving down the west coast. Friendly staff, large hotel room (we stayed in a king room), free wifi, gym and the fire pits near the water were great to sit at and enjoy a beer while watching the sunrise. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a king room with an ocean view and fireplace. The room was newly carpeted, with a beautiful view and was very comfortable. The evening fires that are lit by the beach were an excellent touch. We stayed 2 nights and were very, very happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel was cozy and clean for a good price. A refrigerator would have been nice, but the in-room fireplace and really comfy king sized bed were great. Beautiful location right at the beach. There were fireplaces on the beach provided by the hotel with chairs around them that they kept lit until 11:30 for guests to enjoy, which was a nice touch. We didn't eat at the hotel, but there was room service and a restaurant offered. Only 2-3 miles up the road were some ocean from restaurants that all looked great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list