We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Califorina coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pdx, United States
1 review
“Gem on the Califorina coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed two nights so we could see the sites in the area and was very pleased. The site excepts pets and the grounds are all set up for them. Large expanse of grass and a great beach and towels provided to dry Fido off. We have been traveling to dog events for thirty years and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    548
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
398
1,009
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Engadine, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first stop out of L.A. with our two teenagers on a long road trip around North America. Our room faced the car park/pool area but really that wasn't an issue as we spent so little time in there. After a relaxing walk on the beach watching the Parasailers we had a pleasant dinner in the on-site restaurant, then wandered down to the fire-pits.
There are several of these fire pits that they light just before sunset and each has a few chairs where you can relax with a drink and chat to whoever you find yourself sitting with. This invariably ends up being a swapping of travel experiences and tips for the road ahead.
Whilst certainly not the cheapest spot we stayed, it was clean, comfortable and a delightful location. Highly recommended if it's within your price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. This is a large property with several accommodation blocks, two swimming pools and a big open area facing the beach. There are three fire pits overlooking the beach and they are lit by staff every evening around 7pm. This is the perfect place to enjoy the sunset. Again I booked using the BW website and there are several room choices and competitive rates for the area. Unfortunately we were staying for one night only!

The room was large, clean and tidy. The bathroom had every conceivable toiletry or personal item imaginable, with a sign saying if something wasn't there they'd get it! Internet wifi was quick and easy to access.

The fridge was stocked with absolutely the best selection of beverages I have ever seen in any hotel. Perhaps more surprisingly they were not overpriced. Perhaps this is due to the restaurant not having a bar/cocktail lounge area. So we were able to enjoy a drink down near the beach as the sun set. Fabulous!

We ate dinner and breakfast at the onsite restaurant and had fortunately made a dinner booking in advance. This highly recommended as it can get very busy. Even with a full room the staff were friendly, the food good and prices reasonable. Our waitress was quick and extremely friendly. Top marks!

This is a great Best Western and while there are several hotel/motel choices in the area, I highly recommend it. Especially if you intend to spend several days in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel for 1 night just so we could visit Hearst Castle the next day. Did not expect much but got a very nice room close to ocean with ocean wave sounds to sleep by. Very nice attached restaurant for both dinner and breakfast

Room Tip: Try to pick one of the few rooms on the end with the side view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

During our trip to a 16 days California tour, we stop at this Best Western in San Simeon. This is a remarquable hotel with spacious rooms. Surprise after surprise, you have everything you need in the room and plus! Well located with a nearby restaurant. We stayed only one night and rergret not staying more! A unique Best Western overall. A must if you stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I didn't expect much for a hotel in San Simeon, so we were very surprised at the quality of this hotel. We got a room in "Kings Row" which faces the ocean, we got beautiful views of surf and sunset two nights in a row. The room is well-provisioned and comfortable and clean, and even includes a fireplace (with firewood!) and a deck. Couldn't ask for more than that.
Also, the hotel has three outdoor fireplaces along the bluff over the ocean, and they light fires in there every evening. We slipped on a light jacket and found this was a great place to meet fellow travelers and trade travel stories.
The restaurant here is top-notch, we ate for breakfast and dinner and the food and service was excellent. Reservations for dinner is recommended!
Yes, can't wait for our next trip up the coast, we will definitely make a stop here again.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs on Kings Row, fantastic view of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely and large room and bathroom, with a walk out patio facing the ocean. Loved the two rocking chairs on the patio - absolutely magical to sit in them in the evening and watch the sun set over the ocean and listen to the crashing waves. The hotel also sets up three big fire pits which are fun to sit around if you come with a group. The beach was beautiful - fun to watch the amazing kite surfers ride the waves as the sun set...also hotel is pet friendly, which is a bonus! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.