We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beachfront Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Beachfront Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at this hotel before a tour of Hearst Castle. Our oceanview room was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the Pacific. Fire pits were set up on the beach with plenty of chairs surrounding them. The staff kept the fires lit until 11 PM. The restaurant on-site was very good- much more than I expected from a hotel restaurant. I enjoyed the in-room Keuring coffee maker.

Be advised that the hotel doesn't have an elevator, so you'll want a ground floor room if you have any problems with mobility. We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we had been able to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    454
    91
    35
    9
See reviews for
330
811
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop-off on our way to Golletta. The room was slightly dated, but it was clean and spacious and provided free wi-fi. Were this hotel is situated doesn't offer a great choice of things to do, unless you drive to other towns. I recommend driving to Cambria. There is a restaurant situated next to the hotel, which was great for dinner on the evening we arrived and breakfast when we left.

This hotel is situated right on the beach were you can view the sunset and sunrise, it has two heated pools and offers laundry facilitates for a small fee. For a one night stay I couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The key feature of this hotel is its location on the beach at Big Sur / San Simeon. It is a fine hotel that is made exceptional by its proximity to the ocean. It is well maintained, which is difficult in that environment. The price is reasonable considering the views. Our room was in the Southern most section of the hotel which can’t be more that 25 feet from the beach. The balcony had two rockers and a side table and we spent hours in the evening and morning watching the waves. After dinner we sat and watched the stars and the planets slide below the horizon one by one. While the restaurant is very nice for a quick meal, I recommend Linn’s down Route 1 in Cambria for a special dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here one night on our drive up the coast. What a fabulous Location! Management though of everything. Our room overlooked the ocean with great chairs on the patio. Inside there was a Keurig coffee maker, terry robes and comfortable beds. We have never stayed in a Best Western and were thrilled with the choice. The restaurant served really fresh seafood, veggies and a varied breakfast menu. We really enjoyed sitting around the campfire and chatting with other couples. A really good choice!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently stayed in a dog friendly, non-view King room for one night. I wouldn't call the room rate "cheap", but...we were there on a Friday (one night) where many other of the nicer motels in the area require a two night minimum.

A fridge and a micro would have been nice as it is difficult for us dog owners to find places to eat. There is a mini-bar in the room, but who needs that. An empty mini fridge would have been much nicer.

The room was OK....and clean. The nightly bon-fires were nice, as usual, and we enjoyed chatting with other guests who also enjoyed the fires.

Our dogs were less than happy with the bone-dry condition of the grounds between the motel buildings and the ocean. However, California is in a drought condition so management may not be allowed to run the sprinklers. Anyway, true or untrue, that's what we told the dogs...!!

The people at the front office were nice and friendly. Free coffee is available at the office 24/7 but the motel does not offer a breakfast. For that you'll have to go to the adjacent restaurant or hop in your car and go to nearby Cambria where there are several breakfast options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of our best stays in a hotel incl. a FANTASTIC dinner. Here you will experience something "different". We were surprised by the comfortable room and style. Everything you need incl. a lot bathroom amenities. This was our planned stop for one night when drawing from LA to SF, and we are very happy about our choice. Arriving somewhat late a Saturday evening, the hotel's main restaurant was very crowded and we opted to have our food delivered to our room. Of course we were hungry after a long day drive, but this dinner must be one of the best we ever had!! Morning's breakfast - the same, very tasty. A very comfortable bed and complimentary WiFi/Net in our package. Easy parking right outside the room. We didn't feel energetic enough to enjoy the fire places along the shore, but surely they seemed cozy. Really positively surprised about this place - only regret is that we should have stayed two nights, not one :-). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was my daughter and son-in-laws wedding anniversary the night we were to stay at San Simeon on the route down Highway 1. We have been down this route several times before so knew what to expect at San Simeon so we all chose to get the best rooms, ocean front, patio or balcony and fireplace. The rooms were as described and as well as the rocking chairs on the patio there were two very comfortable armchairs just inside the patio doors with a small table and footstool. Yes there was the appropriate smell in the room from it containing a fireplace but that is what it is. I would love to revisit on a cold night and enjoy the fire etc but that would mean missing out on the open bonfires spread along the beach unless we were really wrapped up which coming from England would probably not be difficult!! On a nice night sitting out late around a fire with a bottle of champagne ended our evening beautifully. We would look forward to returning but do appreciate the best rooms were not 'cheap' but as a one off was definitely worth it. If staying in the area go to Cambria for a nice selection of restaurants and shops. Hearst castle is a must see.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms although the fires along the beach are available to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.