We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Simeon Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
here
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“San Simeon Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were looking to spend time @ Hearst Castle and Big Sur. Found this great value Best Western and would highly recommend. Great views of ocean with complimentary binoculars for dolphin watching from our balcony, in room fireplace with ample supplies for fires, nightly beach side fires in fire pits, best bathroom supply basket, clean and comfortable. Short distance to Hearst Castle, reasonable distance to Big Sur waterfall and purple sand beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    861
    431
    84
    31
    8
See reviews for
311
771
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is great.. You are just steps from the beach, and at night you can sit around wood burning pits and watch the sunset. The rooms are very comfortable, with only occasional little glitches (a noisy toilet when flushed), and the restaurant next door has great food. We have eaten there for breakfast and dinner and highly recommend it. We have stayed here twice and both times our only minor problems have been with guests who don't teach their children to be considerate of others in terms of early morning noise, but that was not our total experience. You are close to Hearst Castle and Cambria, as well as an elephant seal reserve. We had a wonderful time here and will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited this hotel many times. This visit was for a 3 night weekend. First time in the Ocean Front rooms.
These aren't the smaller rooms by the restuarant, nor the Kings Row (long 2 story row of rooms), but are the smaller 2 story structure on the southern edge of the property, looking directly down on the beach.

The Ocean Front rooms are the most expensive on the property and are very similiar, if not identical to the rooms on Kings Row. The bathrooms are upgraded and nicer. The big difference is the rooms are nearly on the edge of the bluff (~8ft of grass between 1st floor room and edge). These rooms are slightly more secluded. And they are expensive (for this hotel): $300/night.

I thought the room was nice, view is no better than Kings Row, except: Kings Row you look across the expansive grass area on the bluff, broad vistas, see other guests walking, walking dogs (pet friendly hotel), evenings guests congregating at the chimineas (big social time), the Ocean Front view doesn't have any of that, but only a view of people walkin on the beach.

For me, the sound of the crashing surf became too loud!! I had to put in ear plugs.

I pick the Kings Row rooms and view. And they cost less!

As far as the rest of the hotel:
-Staff - all very friendly. The guy that lights the chimeneas tends to hang around and talk a bit much.
-Rooms - nice, great beds, nice little fireplace.
-Balcony - Great, new patio furniture, can't be beat. The views are fantastic. When you are on the bluff around sunset look back at Kings Row, you will see many guests out on the balconies.
During the mornings many are on balcony drinking coffee (rooms have Keurig machines, take your favorite K-cup).
-Resturant - We didn't use it this trip. It's -ok- nothing spectacular. I've commented on it before. It's very convienent.

Summary;
we plan to go to this hotel again, and again, and again. But will reserve a room in Kings Row.

Room Tip: Rooms have Keurig machines, bring favorite K-cups. Kings Row rooms are just as nice, better view, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Cavalier is just down the road from the Hearst Castle. The hotel is located right on the beach and has several fire pits located around the property facing the ocean which they keep stocked with fire wood. The rooms are slightly dated, but the room was clean and comfortable. We had no problem with the accommodations. The location is the best! There is a walking path above the shore and there is access to the beach. The Cavalier is a great place to stay. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Really good place to stop on the pacific coast highway. Great views and a really nice coffee shop/restaurant does a fantastic breakfast & great value. The whole place is very clean and tidy. Very handy for Hearst Castle/Sealion beach etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived late but were made very welcome and checked in really quickly and easily. We had phoned ahead to let them know that we would be late and they couldn't have been more helpful or reassuring.

The room was clean and well appointed with everything we could possibly need from nail polish remover wipes to a sewing kit.

We woke up the following morning to discover we had a sea view with the hotel literally yards from the beach.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant next door and was good value for money.

Overall this hotel was great value for money even if the room did resemble a set from Ashes to Ashes. Would have liked to have spent more time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Cavalier is just down the road from the Hearst Castle. It's right on the beach and has fire pits along the beach that are lit at night (very nice). It has a restrauant that offers great food at reasonable prices. Our room was immaculate. We left our windows open at night and slept to the sound of the surf. The Cavallier is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.