We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beachside location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful beachside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms , reasonably priced, and amazing beach front location .
Staff friendly and rooms were a really good size and spotlessly clean .
Two swimming pools a bit on the small size, but ok for a quick dip to cool off .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Dimas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enroute along the Highway 1 between Morro Bay and Big Sur. This Best Western 'Plus' is more average with updated rooms. For the price, I expected better. * The coffee maker did not work in the room. * Business center was a joke. One aged computer in the lobby that needs to be replaced. * The attached restraurant is overpriced. Better food/prices are in Cambria, six (6) miles to the south. * Staff was unhelpful. I would actually rate this location as a C-. I have been in better Best Westerns this month at lower prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Linn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an outstanding Best Western - the staff are very knowledgable and helpful, the location is gorgeous with rooms opeing right out to the ocean. We loved walking the beach and having a room serivce dinner on our balcony looking out to the ocean.
The owners of the property have been very thoughtful in the amenities they provide and consideration that the location is a fair drive from supplies. For example, the hotel mini bar is all very reasonaly priced; the room service is the same price as in the restaurant; they leave binoculars in the room (we saw dolphins in the ocean from our room!) ; they light bonfires at night to enjoy the beach by. Pool looks nice although we did not use it.
We booked this hotel for proximity to the Hearst Castle but in hindsight would stay longer to enjoy the area.Beyond the castle there is the town of Cambria, great beachs and the Elephant Seals to view.

Room Tip: don't bother with a ocean front room, they cost more - the ocean view rooms have full views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Sadly our stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort was not a pleasant one. Location is perfect, rooms and facilities are great but what lets this hotel down is the total lack of Customer Service. From check-in to 2 restaurant meals (dinner and breakfast) and check-out, the 6 of us that stayed here in July from Australia all shared the view there was a total dis-interest in customer satisfaction by the employees here. During our meals we had to continually try to find staff to order drinks and meals. Not the high level of customer service I have come to appreciate from the Best Western chain provided here :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gs60wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Simeon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Everything was great, except our room overlooked the swimming pool. A little noisy at time. View was beautiful otherwise. Room was very nice and clean. We would highly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calimesa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

All in all, a very nice hotel. Our room was great (could have used a microwave, however) with a wonderful view of the ocean. The restaurant was also great. Personnel were all friendly and helpful. The only negative aspect was the CHAIN SMOKING neighbors who were in violation of the NO SMOKING rule. The ocean breeze would blow their cigarette smoke into our room, polluting our clean, fresh salt air!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I’d stayed here before and had a positive experience. The only thing I’d like to update, at least that I noticed this time, was the noise from other rooms and from people walking by outside. Keep in mind it was minor and would not keep me from staying here again, but, if you’re a light sleeper, you may want to request a room that won’t have much foot traffic by it. Otherwise, great room, comfy bed, and a lot of nice little touches like reading lamps, Bath and Body Works products, and even a portable fan. Easy drive to Hearst Castle and Cambria, and an easy walk to a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#3 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing