We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crashing Waves, and Evening Fire Pits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Glendale, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crashing Waves, and Evening Fire Pits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent two nights in the Terrace Section of this hotel and enjoyed ourselves greatly. We try to visit this location several times a year and are never disapointed. The Terrace Rooms are right on the water and the view is wonderful. We also enjoy the room service from the hotel restaurant. I know we will keep coming back year after year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms 278-278 facing the water are the greatest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    499
    105
    37
    9
See reviews for
369
898
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and included a locked mini bar and safe and big flat screen TV. The sink was stalked with standard shampoo, conditioner, lotion, but also nail polish remover, foot scrub, and a plethora of other items I don't bother to pack. In-room coffee and tea is also available. The hotel is on the beach and they have nightly bonfires, which we enjoyed after a late dinner at the on-site restraunt. The restraunt also provided excellent service. After dinner I stopped into the front desk to ask what time tours at Hearst Castle start. Reception recommended I purchase our tickets online at the lobby computer since they sell out early, so I did, and she was right because the morning tours were already sold out. That worked out for us though because it meant a leisurely breakfast and morning stroll on the beach. We headed out for Hearst visitor center an hour before our tour which was a perfect time to get there. We had time to use the restroom, pick up our tickets, watch the film and catch our bus up to Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Driving between San Fran to LA we stopped at San Simeon for a stay. We were welcomed by Savanah, she gave us a great rate. The room was very clean, and the bed were comfortable.
The restaurant on the property was very good the staff were very friendly and food was excellent
need a half way place to stop this is the place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

nice restaurant across the road from where we stayed in san simeon Friday night very busy waited 30 mins for a table but worth it very very pleasant. good service with friendly staff and worth the wait here in san simeon. lovely views from the window tables

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Driving between LA and San Fran, we stopped in at San Simeon for an overnight stay. Although we didn’t have a booking we were given a great rate on a twin double room and even given ocean views. The resort is right on the beach so the views are quite spectacular, especially at sunset.

Staff were extremely helpful and pointed out local petrol stations and supermarkets without us having to ask. They also suggested lots of great stops for us to make on the way to San Fran and also told us how to book in tours of nearby Hearst Castle.

Room was great, extremely spacious with great sized bathroom including many complimentary cosmetics. Beds were extremely comfortable.

The restaurant next door is also great, the provided complimentary samples of some menu items.

Overall the stay was fantastic, the only downside being we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During our month long holiday, this hotel and restaurant were a standout. It may not have been as luxurious as some of the other hotels we stayed at, but the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, the rooms and bathroom large, clean and comfortable and the location stunning - being roughly half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles on the scenic Highway One. At night, fire pits are lit overlooking the ocean which guests can mill around. The meal we had at the restaurant was one of THE best we had during our holiday - absolutely delicious food (and plenty of it) served by friendly waiters and at affordable prices. A perfect stopover hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.