We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Driving between LA and San Fran, we stopped in at San Simeon for an overnight stay. Although we didn’t have a booking we were given a great rate on a twin double room and even given ocean views. The resort is right on the beach so the views are quite spectacular, especially at sunset.

Staff were extremely helpful and pointed out local petrol stations and supermarkets without us having to ask. They also suggested lots of great stops for us to make on the way to San Fran and also told us how to book in tours of nearby Hearst Castle.

Room was great, extremely spacious with great sized bathroom including many complimentary cosmetics. Beds were extremely comfortable.

The restaurant next door is also great, the provided complimentary samples of some menu items.

Overall the stay was fantastic, the only downside being we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    894
    451
    89
    35
    9
See reviews for
327
805
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During our month long holiday, this hotel and restaurant were a standout. It may not have been as luxurious as some of the other hotels we stayed at, but the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, the rooms and bathroom large, clean and comfortable and the location stunning - being roughly half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles on the scenic Highway One. At night, fire pits are lit overlooking the ocean which guests can mill around. The meal we had at the restaurant was one of THE best we had during our holiday - absolutely delicious food (and plenty of it) served by friendly waiters and at affordable prices. A perfect stopover hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is nice, but more importantly, it is at the ideal location right on the beach in a wonderful little cove. It is a bit dated, but the rooms are nice and the views are incredible. I would recommend a ocean front room, although the ocean view rooms looked ok too. We watched a beautiful sunset from our room overlooking the beach. Our room had a wood burning fireplace in it which was nice. Again, nothing fancy, but we would certainly return. It was a birthday trip for me and they certainly were very generous with the room selection (and the complementary bottle of bubbly on ice in our room when we arrived). Please note that check in time is 4:00 p.m. We arrived early and our room was not ready until 2:30 or 3:00 p.m. Ask for an early check in if you need it! Great prices too!

Room Tip: Ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This motel was better than I had expected with large rooms and for a bit extra fee, a room facing the ocean
Just about a 5 minute drive to the Hearst Castle visitor center
Be prepared for cooler temperatures than in Santa Barbara, for example

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here only one night and that was 4 too few. The hotel/motel sits on a bluff just at the edge of the Pacific ocean with easy walking to the actual beach. The Kings Row rooms have either a patio on the ground floor, or a deck on the second floor, that looks out over miles of beach and you can hear the surf all night long if you leave your sliding door ajar. Being a BW Plus, you get extra amenities, like a fireplace with presto logs, a mini kitchen with bar counter, stocked refrig with a key to keep the kids out, a micro wave and Kuerig with both tea and coffee. Robes are on the shelf in the sink area. I always appreciate 2 luggage racks since there are 2 of us traveling. (I'm not clear while more hotels haven't figured that out) The bathroom is tiled and the sink area is outside the shower/toliet area making dressiing and showering easy for 2+ people. cable TV, internet etc amd 2 wonderful wing back chairs with a panoraminc view of the beach and Pacific ocean. You must ask for "Kings Row" to get the best rooms (book them online for great rates). There is a really good restaurant on the grounds. In the evening the staff light several fire chimneys to keep you warm while watching the sun set.

This hotel/motel is perfectly located for day trips up and down the coast. Hearst Castle is just a 10 min. drive to the North. I always book online at BW site for best rates including, AARP and AAA, and for best photos.

Room Tip: Be sure to book Kings Row from Ocean front rooms with panoramic views. Check in time is 3 PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful room for the long-haul road-tripper; comfy beds, wonderful views and access to the sights and the gorgeous shore for reasonable rates. It's quiet, clean and comfortable "like home." And the staff provide the sunset time and light fragrant fires in the fire pits at sunset along the shore. It doesn't get better when you are on the road and touring!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took a three week road trip and this was my favorite hotel. The room was comfortable, scenery was great and it was quiet. Creature comforts abounded, from the Keurig coffeemaker to the amenities in the bathroom. You could see the Ocean from our room. Two nice stuffed chairs looked on the patio. A fireplace in the room would have been great if it had been a bit cooler out, but we didn't light it even though all of the supplies were easily accessible. A longer stay would have been fine with me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.