We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Fathers Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Your Fathers Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you'd told me that I would be giving a Best Western Hotel 4 Stars, I would have told you "No way!". But here it is: the location for Hearst Castle is great, the view of the Pacific is great, and the fire pits that bring guests together every night is great. The owner has taken a 1980's Best Western park in front of your room motel and brought it up to premium standards to include granite and marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, crown molding and fireplaces in some rooms. The building is well maintained and the staff puts the guests needs as their priority. If your going to Hearst Cavalier stay at the Cavalier.
http://www.grinkmeyer.com/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    791
    399
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
280
701
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location on the Pacific Coast. We got an Ocean View room and the view was amazing. It was relaxing to sit on the balcony and look over the ocean. The rooms are well equip with everything you need. The restaurant delivers to the rooms at restaurant prices and the food is delicious. If I lived in California, I would make this a regular stop of mine. Its so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and i were driving down the coast from Arroyo Grande for a family gathering It was a nice and sunny day, perfect for a drive down Highway 1.
We planned in staying for a night somewhere down the road along the coast.before continue on our trip back to Bay area. After my GPS told us about Best Western plus Cavalier hotel on the beach side in San Simeon, my husband and i stopped to check it out.
The hotel location was breathtaking. The hotel itself looked pristine and well kept. There are 3 fire pits on the manicured lawn facing the ocean. Since most rooms has a grand view anyway, we chose the standard room with a king bed,
So when Anna, the front desk agent upgraded us to a ocean view room with a fireplace, we were beyond delighted (well i squealed) The room was spacious and sunny, it has a fireplace and a balcony with chairs for us to enjoy the view. Thank you Anna :) The amenities are plenty and what i would have packed myself. Such a thoughtful concept.
What a nice surprise to have stumble upon this property on our road trip. There are so many positive to say about this hotel, but i will let others just experience that themselves. We enjoyed our stay tremendously, and we will definitely stay here again, and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were only at this Hotel for one night on our way up the coast. It was a decent/average room that was clean and good size. It was a great location to see Hearst Castle which was our main reason for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a find !!!!. Great reception by very knowledgeable staff. Room was large and overlooked the beach and pool area. In room information folder was the most comprehensive I have ever read. Loved how staff are listed by years of service. The in room "freebees" were amazing. I have never seen so many supplied for every eventuality. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine. Great position for Hearst Castle and Big Sur Coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As other travelers have noted, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the amenities are very nice. Neutogena face soap! We stayed for two nights before relocating to San Francisco for a conference, and I'd rather have stayed here. We took an ocean view room with a fireplace, and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were able to use the fireplace both evenings.

We found t fist morning of our stay that our shower/tub did not drain well. We stopped by the front desk as we were leaving for the day and told them about the problem. The young man at the desk asked our permission to allow someone in our room during our absence and told us that the problem would be taken care of. Sure enough, the next day, the tub drained perfectly. There was no other sign in the tub or on the bathroom floor - or anywere else in the room - that any work had been done.

We enjoyed touring wineries in the hills between San Simeon and Paso Robles, and we were very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our visit to Hearst Castle. Next time we go, we'll stay longer. Look for sea otters!

Room Tip: We opted for an oceanview room with a fireplace, and we were glad we did. We asked for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Location is right on the beach and very close to Hearst Castle. Check in/out was friendly and efficient. Room was large and clean. Impressive that staff are listed in the information folder, by years of service - in my mind this points to a well managed business. We ate dinner (room service) - value for money and good and breakfast which was also good. We bought a breakfast voucher expecting a buffet breakfast but it was order up to the value of the breakfast voucher from the menu - so wouldn't bother with that as you save nothing. Not what I would call a resort. I found all the accommodation down the Big Sur coast to be over-priced for what you get - it wasn't high season but I guess they can charge these rates for the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.