We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Location is right on the beach and very close to Hearst Castle. Check in/out was friendly and efficient. Room was large and clean. Impressive that staff are listed in the information folder, by years of service - in my mind this points to a well managed business. We ate dinner (room service) - value for money and good and breakfast which was also good. We bought a breakfast voucher expecting a buffet breakfast but it was order up to the value of the breakfast voucher from the menu - so wouldn't bother with that as you save nothing. Not what I would call a resort. I found all the accommodation down the Big Sur coast to be over-priced for what you get - it wasn't high season but I guess they can charge these rates for the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    548
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
397
1,006
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was very warm, knowledgeable and friendly and you knew they would go the "extra mile" for you. The room was comfortable and clean with nice amenities. The room service was awesome! Not only did everyhting arrive promptly, but what was supposed to be hot, was, which is a great feat as this is not an enclosed hotel. I also liked the fact that the room service prices were the same as in the restaurant and without a "delivery fee". Tax was added and gratuity was at the discretion of the client as it should be. Well done!! I wish more hotels/motels would take a page from your book. The balcony was a nice size and, inside, there was a working fireplace. At night, the "bonfires" were lit on the beach (weather permitting). The ocean view rooms are only about 100 yards back from the beach so easy to watch the sea and the sunsets. The ocean front rooms are at the ocean's edge and are a bit larger with a few more amenities, but the ocean view rooms are more than adequate. Only things missing were a light over the bar area and a lighted make-up mirror for the ladies, but I understand that that is in the works.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagupan ,Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay,booked two rooms for 7 family members. Though rooms are not that spacious but clean and supplied with full amenities. Its just a short walk to the beach and very quiet and peaceful surrounding.staff were warm and accomodating.

Room Tip: Choose one on the ground floor and facing the sea, we were given rooms on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed at this motel for many, many years, although it had been a long time since our last visit. We were surprised to see how much the motel has grown and gone a bit more upscale. It used to be a pretty typical beach motel, not at all seedy, but not what you'd consider "fancy". Now it appears that it has beautiful king rooms with great ocean views. While it does seem pricey at over $300 a night for those rooms, I suppose that people will find it worth the money. We made last minute reservations and were lucky to get just a normal room for about $140 a night, but they are nicely appointed with a nice toiletry area, comfortable bed and furnishings.
They have nightly bonfires, but when we peeked out, all the seats around the pit were occupied, so we passed.
One of my favorite features of this motel is the beach it sits on. Fabulous opportunity to beach comb, looking at the fabulous colors in the rocks. I'll confess to collecting some to bring home to create a nice little bathroom deco.
The onsite restaurant is very convenient with decent food. Not cheap, but this small sea-side town doesn't have much to offer by way of restaurants, and that's actually part of the charm..the feeling of being "remote". The staff from the hotel and restaurant are all very friendly, and the service is very good.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay the price, you will want to stay in the newest section which has king &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family of 4 were on our way from Santa Cruz to Anaheim and stopped in for the night. We just caught a glimps of the elephant seals on the beach at dusk just before we stopped at the hotel and they were amazing. The check in staff were very friendly and gave us there last room which was a disabled room - that was fantastic as it was a corner room which overlooked the private beach with the firepits. The staff also helped us book our tickets to Hearst Castle for the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clean and great views. Fireplaces by the surf. It is reasonably priced and worth it. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent in the adjoining restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We reached the hotel after visiting the elephant seals. We entered a large parking area. The staff at the reception where very friendly and professional . The room was large, with a great ocean view. A nice fire place added much to the relaxed atmosphere . The room was very well equipped with a great coffee machine. I really enjoyed watching the ocean with a excellent cup of coffee in my hand. The room was very clean, a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was smartly arranged making it very enjoyable in use. Not far from the room we enjoyed a smal fitness room and a small pool with a jacuzzi . My wife wanted to stay longer for this is the ultimate romantic setup.
Very highly recommended

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.