We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite on the Central Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Delano, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My new favorite on the Central Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I agree with all the recent reviews of this very romantic hotel. Our room was very comfortable and attractive. Enjoyed the fireplace and soaking tub. Our room was not
The cooking and the presentation were very attractive.an ocean view, but we had a nice view of the ocean from the little patio.
i was impressed with the quality of the food at the on site restaurant. A fairly small menu, but great variety and very well prepared.
Loved the grounds and the fire pits. Efficient and very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    499
    105
    37
    9
See reviews for
369
898
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We didn't expect such a great place and room for our money, but we were wonderfully surprised. Our room faced the ocean, we had a wood burning fireplace in our room and we even had a little patio. Two nights for around $200 total. Our friends paid the same and got a window facing the ocean they could open at night to hear those glorious waves. No fireplace or patio, but it doesn't matter because of the value. Very nice clean rooms and a king sized bed in each of our rooms. And here's the REALLY special thing; each evening, they built a fire in their 3 outdoor fireplaces and chairs to sit in. It was cold because it was January, but the fire kept us toasty warm. The people there are just as nice as they can be. We are spreading the word about what a great place this is. Oh, and the bed is so great I woke up with no back pain at all. I even slept well night number one so I think THAT is a first! We like the touch lamps in the room too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The sound from the ocean was wonderful as we over look the wave hitting rocks. This is at the top of my list of places to stay. The room was very clean and very nice. It was cold outside, we left the door open all night with fire place burning,but when the fire went out they have warm blanket s to keep you warm all night. They was coffee and tea in room, but no hot chocolate. This was only down fall. The staff was so nice. The restaurant had very very good food, more then you can eat! Mmm so so good!!! Thanks for the nice stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect. Located right in San Simeon, it is about 5 minutes from entrance to Hearst Castle. The rooms were clean and were close to parking(free.). There was free wifi in the room. The room had 2 queen beds and the room was a very comfortable size. There was a coin laundry available. Our room was close to ocean and you could hear the waves. There are 2 bonfire pits on the beach that are set up for guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in. I highly recommend this hotel. The adjacent restaurant is very convenient and we ate both dinner and breakfast during our stay.
The fitness room was small, but clean and new equipment in good working order. The fitness room has a TV a no a window with an ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There is nothing negatvie I can say about this place. I was amazed at the hotel.

1. Room - Most of the time the hotel beds are hard, but not here, they are comfortable and soft. Only hotel I've been at where the coffee maker is a Keurig! The room had a great view of the ocean and sleeping at night with the window open was heaven because you can hear the waves crashing...very peaceful!

2. Surroundings - I was impressed at how you can walk down to the beach and how the hotel staff would maintain the firepits so you can enjoy the sunset.

3. Food - even though they do not have continental bfast on site, they have a nice restaurant which was very elegant and the price was reasonable. you can have an table with a view of the ocean. the wait staff is very helpful and kind. the staff and food made the entire eating experience very pleasant. You can actually order room service from the restaurant for a good price. it's nice if you like to take your time in the morning.

4. Price - this hotel is worth the low price! I got a two queen bed with partial ocean view for under $100.

Overall - this is one of the best hotels I've been at for all the good reasons. Low price, great surroundings, comfortable rooms and amenities, nice restaurant with a helpful staff. only thing i didn't try was the pool, but it is nice to know it's heated. it wasn't warm enough to swim, I would go back if i'm in the neighborhood again.

Room Tip: even if you book a 2 queen bed room with no oceanview, try to ask for rooms as close to the ocean as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! We had a waterfront room, where out private patio went right out to the ocean. Fireplace, good sized tub and bathrobes for our use! There was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us(don't know if it's because I mentioned we were celebrating an anniversary or because I'm a Diamond member). The two women in the lobby who checked us in we're very helpful and gave restaurant recommendations. The insight restaurant was okay... Nothing to write home about, but certainly adequate. I just wish it hadn't been raining so we could have enjoyed the awesome outdoor fireplaces!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stop on way to San Fran and to o Hearst castle. Should have stayed 2 nights. We stayed in the motel part in a family room (2 rooms, 3 beds). It's a motel type room, but for the price was great. Free wifi and a great restaurant. Stay here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.