We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on California coast and close to Hearst Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location on California coast and close to Hearst Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect. Located right in San Simeon, it is about 5 minutes from entrance to Hearst Castle. The rooms were clean and were close to parking(free.). There was free wifi in the room. The room had 2 queen beds and the room was a very comfortable size. There was a coin laundry available. Our room was close to ocean and you could hear the waves. There are 2 bonfire pits on the beach that are set up for guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in. I highly recommend this hotel. The adjacent restaurant is very convenient and we ate both dinner and breakfast during our stay.
The fitness room was small, but clean and new equipment in good working order. The fitness room has a TV a no a window with an ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    436
    85
    32
    8
See reviews for
318
777
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burbank
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There is nothing negatvie I can say about this place. I was amazed at the hotel.

1. Room - Most of the time the hotel beds are hard, but not here, they are comfortable and soft. Only hotel I've been at where the coffee maker is a Keurig! The room had a great view of the ocean and sleeping at night with the window open was heaven because you can hear the waves crashing...very peaceful!

2. Surroundings - I was impressed at how you can walk down to the beach and how the hotel staff would maintain the firepits so you can enjoy the sunset.

3. Food - even though they do not have continental bfast on site, they have a nice restaurant which was very elegant and the price was reasonable. you can have an table with a view of the ocean. the wait staff is very helpful and kind. the staff and food made the entire eating experience very pleasant. You can actually order room service from the restaurant for a good price. it's nice if you like to take your time in the morning.

4. Price - this hotel is worth the low price! I got a two queen bed with partial ocean view for under $100.

Overall - this is one of the best hotels I've been at for all the good reasons. Low price, great surroundings, comfortable rooms and amenities, nice restaurant with a helpful staff. only thing i didn't try was the pool, but it is nice to know it's heated. it wasn't warm enough to swim, I would go back if i'm in the neighborhood again.

Room Tip: even if you book a 2 queen bed room with no oceanview, try to ask for rooms as close to the ocean as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! We had a waterfront room, where out private patio went right out to the ocean. Fireplace, good sized tub and bathrobes for our use! There was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us(don't know if it's because I mentioned we were celebrating an anniversary or because I'm a Diamond member). The two women in the lobby who checked us in we're very helpful and gave restaurant recommendations. The insight restaurant was okay... Nothing to write home about, but certainly adequate. I just wish it hadn't been raining so we could have enjoyed the awesome outdoor fireplaces!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stop on way to San Fran and to o Hearst castle. Should have stayed 2 nights. We stayed in the motel part in a family room (2 rooms, 3 beds). It's a motel type room, but for the price was great. Free wifi and a great restaurant. Stay here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the 3 different locations on the CA Central Coast over New Year's Eve from Avila Beach to Lucia with all 3 properties offering unique opportunities. All 3 properties offered rooms for ~$200/night and each will be reviewed separately.For approximately $200/night it is difficult to find a better value at such a beautiful setting. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant but many good options exist in Cambria which is only a short 5 minute dirve away.

The 4 fireplaces on the grounds near the beach are a very nice touch and all were lit and ready to use while watching another maginificent CA sunset.

The hotel was built a number of years ago but is well maintained and our room has been nicely upgraded over the years. The gym is adequate for the facility but can be tight if more than a few individuals are in the facility at the same time. If you're a runner you are limited by distance as your only option is significant stretches of Route 1 which is shared by a lot of cars and cyclists on weekends, not quite as bad on weekdays. The room had a fireplace which is a nice touch but the synthetic log cylinders will only give a modest flame (definitely fire safe but low on ambiance). Staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful.

Room Tip: The west facing rooms offer superb views of the ocean with easy access from all ground floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I always like coming back to this hotel when i'm in San Simeon! Even when i don't stay here i visit the lovely fire pits. what makes this hotel so great is the location and and fire pits. being right on the beach in one of the most beautiful areas in California plus the rates are awesome! I have always had great service at best western, san simeon....just pure warmth, great customer service and lovely staff. great stay , hotel :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.