We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best all round hotel that I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably best all round hotel that I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellence all around. Travelling from LA to SF via route 1. Stopped over in the Cavalier. Great location approx 50 meters from the ocean front. 3 fires lit in the grounds at night and patrons we encouraged to sit around at night. On site restaurant was excellent. Try the seafood platter for dinner and Cajun omelette for breakfast. The well stocked and reasonable priced mini bar made up for the lack of real bar facilities on site although there is a liquor store across the road. Room ware well proportioned with highlights being the open fires and availability of binoculars (dolphins played off shore in the morning and whale migration in certain months). Will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    789
    398
    73
    26
    6
See reviews for
278
698
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western during a recent trip down Pacific Coast Highway before heading to Hearst Castle. I must admit that I was leary when I booked the room based on the price. I was expecting minimal amenities, but was very pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. The room boasted ocean views, a wood burning fireplace and a mini-bar stocked with beverages and snacks for the whole family. The hotel exterior featured a heated pool, on-site restaurant and beach-front firepits and benches for viewing the spectacular sunset. The room itself was spacious and the hotel was generous with the toiletries-everything from soap and shampoo to make-up and nail polish removal pads, a sewing kit and post-beach foot cleanser! When the room got too warm from the fire, we were able to open the windows to our room and listen to the waves crashing all night. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and ordered room service for breakfast--both meals were fantastic and reasonably priced. The hotel is very conveniently located for a visit to Hearst Castle. I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an "ocean view"--be sure to specify "Ocean Front" if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a handicap room because my mom is in a wheelchair. Not all "handicap" rooms are wheelchair friendly, and the Cavalier was perfect for our situation. Everyone was attentive to our every need...The paths on the bluff were easy to go on, also. We loved hearing the crashing waves from our room! We were told it wasn't a room with a "view" and were so surprised to still have "ocean" out our window! Very clean and comfortable. Good food at the resteraunt and at the Mexican place close by. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a somewhat nervous drive down through Big Sur from San Francisco this little gem of a hotel awaited us. Good price with ocean view, but best part are the fires lit each night on the bluff above the beautiful ocean and beach. We sat by one of the three that were lit after dark and chatted with other travelers while drinking some good regional wine we purchased at the liquor store across the street. Beds and pillows were fantastic - the best we had on that trip. Front desk staff alerted us to the impending sunset while we were checking in - gorgeous - don't miss it! Decennt but not overwhelming dining choices just 5 minutes south in Cambria - recommend the ones on the ocean side of the highway for view. Perfect place to stay when visiting Hearst Castle. Just a minute north on the highway and you are at the entrance to the Visitor's Center. Check out Sebastian's just across highway from Castle entrance in San Simeon for lunch after your tour - great sandwiches using Hearst Ranch beef. Better to go there after your tour - lines can be long. If you are looking for a Marriott Marquis feel, this is not the place for you. But if you want a relaxing down-home atmosphere, comfortable rooms, and an incredible view in a very convenient location - this IS the place for you. I have no criticisms - it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We liked this lodge. But get an ocean view or dont bother. Reasonably priced with pleasant rooms nicely furnished with mini bars and huge safes. The hotel lights open air log fires just on the edge of the beach which made night watching the waves a pleasure. Some rooms have log burners, and face-on ocean views but these are more expensive. We were slightly annoyed that both the booking confirmation and the guest directory mentioned a DVD player but in fact has abandoned those as they have upgraded their TVs. Not a deal breaker but we had some US bought discs we would have liked to play. San Simeon may seem the obvious stop for visiting Hearst Castle. And without wishing to knock this inn we wished we knew about Cambria a few miles up the road. It is charming with far more choice of ocean view inns. Cambria is full of galleries and restaurants and is clealy over-endowed for its own tiny population. Somehow despite being a tourist magnet and its crazy folksy attempt at English village architecture it escapes tacky by some margin and as English visitors we were charmed. The town is divided by the highway but this wouldn't matter to most.

Room Tip: The direct ocean views carry an additional cost but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved our view of the Pacific from our room. Room had fireplace in it and bed was comfortable. The BEST reason for recommending the hotel was that they have bonfires up and down the beach( approx. 100 yds. from room) with chairs for guests to sit and listen to the cracking of the wood and the roar of the Pacific. Very convenient to the Hearst Castle. Make sure to drive a few miles and see the "Elephant Seals"

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good views but cheap motel feel

Pros: Good view right onto the Pacific Ocean, not more than 10m away from the beach. Log burner in the room.

Cons: Slow and poor service. Cheap motel feel for a medium price.

On reflection we would visit Hurst Castle (only 5 minutes away) around lunch time and then head further on up or down the coast to find a larger conurbation to stay. This is a mini strip with just hotels and a couple of weak restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.