We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
montreal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Lady at check-in VERY nice and friendly! When we opened the door of our room, we both said WOW!!! Had a room facing the beach (not on the beach). Incredible!! Room is great, super to sit with the fireplace going and look at the water!! When you walk in, there are 2 big, comfy chairs facing the sliding doors looking out on the water. Room is filled with many thoughtful details: lovely coffee making machine with little cups of different coffees to make. Big basket of toiletries. Fridge, cupboard of goodies (for sale). Bed is really comfortable! Free room service, we had a delicious breakfast looking at our view. Their attention to the smallest details to help make our stay even better is unmatched! Very romantic place!! Food at restaurant across the road (at the Quality Inn) was great!!!!! They gave us a 10% coupon when we checked in. Nice touch having a laundry!

Room Tip: We didn`t try their spa, not sure if there is one but I mistakenly clicked on excellent and can`t fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    479
    98
    37
    9
See reviews for
353
857
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night when visiting Hearst Castle. Wished we could have stayed longer. Excellent position on beach. Excellent service. Fantastic steaks in the Cavalier restaurant next door. Guests gathered by the big fires by the beach in the evening - all very sociable.

Room Tip: Ask for full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Cavalier Oceanfront Resort San Simeon on a trip up PCH from LA to San Francisco. We couldn’t have been happier with our choice.

We booked a king room (for what we thought was a bargain price of $99USD AAA rate). The room was spacious with a good sized bathroom, very comfortable bed and its own fireplace. Room was well kept and clean and all staff we encountered were helpful and friendly.

The fire pits along the bluff are amazing and a perfect spot to toast some marshmallows at the end of a long drive while chatting to other travellers. We could see it was dog friendly (couldn’t bring our pooch all the way from Australia unfortunately) but seeing other dogs certainly gave us a pet fix which was nice! You can walk down on the beach but I don’t think swimming is an option. The hotel has several nice pools and jacuzzi’s which we made the most of.

We ate dinner at the restaurant which was quite nice. I’m not normally a fan of hotel restaurants but the food and service at this one were good.

We would love to stay at this hotel again and would likely fork out for one of the amazing ocean front rooms next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We received excellent service at this hotel and were extremely well looked after. Unfortunately we don't know the name of the gentleman we dealt with as he deserves a mention, however hopefully he will know who he is. The views from the hotel were amazing. We were only stayed one night, but would have loved to have stayed an extra night, but had to move onto our next destination.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Cause if I had gaffer tape (Room 165) I could have stuck the door back that kept drifting closed in front of the TV – the TV had poor reception and not a flat screen. But that sadly was only the start – I can’t tell you how unhappy we were here. The bed was too hard. The noise insulation between rooms was non existent. My neighbors upstairs must have been wearing clogs under their wetsuits. There were sharp edged holes in the bathroom tiled floor (reported). So much for a romantic escape. The room outlook and the quality of the fittings were fine. The bottom line for a hotel is that it doesn’t matter how many fluffy towels there are, if you have an honor bar or not, a romantic fire place, or a wonderful view – If you can’t get a good nights sleep it’s all for nothing. And no we won’t be returning. They refused my Master Card for payment – this did not happen anywhere else during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel was fine for a one night stay on our drive down to LA from SF. Our room was very basic, but that is what was expected. The grounds surrounding the hotel are lovely and I wish we had had more time to enjoy the nightly fires on the the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location, very comfortable beds, great staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.