We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTALLY WORTH PAYING FOR OCEANFRONT, SO RELAXING, EVEN SAW WHALES RIGHT FROM OUR BALCONY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TOTALLY WORTH PAYING FOR OCEANFRONT, SO RELAXING, EVEN SAW WHALES RIGHT FROM OUR BALCONY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a relaxing vacation. Our first night we chose to stay in San Simeon (Cambria) and went back to the Best Western Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel for our second time. The man who helped us was nothing but polite and professional. We stayed in the King Oceanfront Room, requested a 2nd story & got one. The rooms a spacious. The view is incredible. Being on the 2nd floor we were able to sleep with the slider open & have the fireplace going while we slept and boy did we sleep good. Bed was comfy (down pillows aren't my favorite though). The bathroom had a really big bathtub!! Super relaxing. On the bathroom sink is a bunch of complimentary toiletries from bath & body works shampoo, conditioner & lotion to mouth wash to makeup remover, nail polish remover, shower cap, cotton balls & cuetips (sorry if spelled wrong). They also provided binoculars. Another awesome thing was the coffee pot, it was a kuerig (you know one of those like instant coffee machines), super cool. When we woke up we drank coffee and watched the outside life, ended up seeing 3 whales swimming around straight out from our balcony, even got photos. Anyway, what I'm trying to say is, we will be back no doubt about it. Oh and its pet friendly, didn't take out dogs last time but we did our first time. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    861
    431
    84
    31
    8
See reviews for
311
771
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Really great place, right on the water, ocean view room second floor with fireplace, Clean room with fridge ,big bathroom, balcony. Night time fires outside great place to get to know other travellers. 5 minute drive to Hearst Castle. Excellent place to relax before heading to Carmel or Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was the second stop on our coastal drive from San Francisco to LA and it did not disappoint. Stayed for one night and paid extra for an ocean view room which was definitely worth it - watching pelicans fly over the Pacific Ocean from the comfort of your room while the sun goes down is amazing.
The hotel is a few miles out of the small town, alongside a few other hotels and a couple of convenience stores. Check in was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to drive our car round to the room so no dragging the luggage for miles! We were advised upon check-in that San Simeon tends to close around 9pm so to make sure we ate out before that time. Decided to eat at the onsite restaurant, food was standard fare and all mains came with a soup or salad included.
You cannot fault the location - right on the edge of the ocean, with a few steps down to a pebble beach. The fire pits are lit when the sun sets but all were staked out well in advance, so we opted for a fire in the room. This lit easily with the products supplied and made the room really warm and cosy. Bed was great and the lull of the ocean meant we got a good nights sleep! Wi-fi was standard and worked fine and the room had a safe, coffee maker and a large fridge. The mini-bar was well stocked and very reasonable as there was nothing over $5.
We did find the bathroom to be a little cold and the hot water inconsistent but these were only minor issues.
I would stay here again for the views alone (we even saw a whale!) however, it's a bonus that the hotel is so good too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This was the best overnight location of our 2 week trip! We have stayed in San Francisco, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, Grand Canyon, Barstow, Bakersfield and even Las Vegas but this location topped the lot. Beautiful room with a view over the Pacific with an absolutely fantastic sunset the night we were there. The sound of the sea less than 100m away made the whole night brilliant. Beds comfortable, bathroom, shower and all amenities excellent. On site restaurant great and reasonably priced. Intend to return to California and will definitely stay longer here. Nearby Hearst Castle a must to visit.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We Stayed at the BWP Cavalier on April 17th 2012. This hotel is quite large and the grounds extensive. We had a ocean front room that was steps away from the bluff. It was great to sit by our sliding glass door and look out at the sea. Our room had a king bed, mini bar and another fridge for our own stuff. In room coffee and wet bar sink were perfect. The corner fireplace was the kicker. Great to have a fire in the room while we had a drink and watch the (insane) kite surfer out in the rough surf. The bathroom and nice and we both thought the huge tub was too inviting. We walked the grounds at night when the staff light a series of fires in the outdoor fireplaces. We had dinner in the onsite restaurant which was ok nothing special but the food was good and we had no complaints. We did not use the pools / hot tubs but there were kids in the pool having fun as we walked by. One night was not enough and if I am back in this area again I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nundah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

When you’re doing the costal route between LA and San Fran San Simeon makes a perfect stop. We really enjoyed staying here, the rooms are fantastic we had an ocean view room, it was lovely to sit there and watch the sun go down at the end of the day. Their bathroom amenities would have to some of the best we have had, and was a really big surprise from a Best Western, the bathroom was a little on the cold side, but the room was great, plenty of space and the best bed we had on this trip.

Their restaurant has a great breakfast, their dinner (for a vegetarian) was a little lacking however my partner was more than happy with the selection (not a vegetarian). I would love to come back and spend a few more days exploring this area.

Only thing the photo’s on the website make the hotel look like it out by itself, there are number of hotels very close to it, saying that you couldn’t hear anything from them, so it made no difference.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We usually stay on the terrace, and love being right on the bluff! The sound of the ocean, lulling you to sleep at night. Room service for breakfast in the morning. Having binoculars and a cozy robe to be on the balcony and view the ocean and maybe see the sea lions or a whale is worth the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.