We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Easily this is the nicest hotel in San Simeon or near the Hearst Castle. My wife and I walked into the Best Western asking about room availability. Knowing that the hotel is on the beach and near the Castle we expected higher rates, we are budget travelers and do not typically pay a lot for rooms. The room rate was good but once we entered the room it became a bargain. We chose the lowest rate room at this BW and wow what a surprise, a large room, nicely furnished, the bed was amazing comfortable and all was very clean. Then to top everything off the room comes with sounds of the ocean (we live in Minnesota, this is special).

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We will be making a return visit because the PCH north of San Simeon had several wash out closing the road to Big Sur, Carmel and the Monterey Peninsula. We will stay here again and highly recommend that you do too.

Room Tip: No need to get the best room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    499
    105
    37
    9
See reviews for
369
899
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed in an Ocean Front suite, 20 feet from the cliff that leads to the ocean. There are only a few of these suites with their own parking lot which made them very unique and isolated. What can you say about listening to the surf 24/7 and looking at your sliding glass door at the beautiful ocean waves all day? That's what makes this place five stars. However, I put four stars because of some of the silly flaws: 1) no screen on the sliding glass so if you want to leave the sliding glass door open, you're also stuck with having every flying bug on Earth come visit you inside your room; 2) because you're isolated from the main rooms, the wireless doesn't work for your computer. The room is wired, and that works fine, but my wife and I both wanted to be online and couldn't. Next time, we'd bring a switch and cabling to get us both online; 3) for some weird reason, there are windows between the bathroom and the bedroom??? So, if you need to "go" late at night, you can't turn the light on without blinding the person in the bed ... but if you can't turn on the light in the bathroom, you can't do your "business" ... ridiculous; 4) the coffee maker stopped functioning on our last day - lame; 5) all the pre-programmed buttons on the phone didn't work; 6) for the money, this room should have a microwave ... nothing to warm your cold coffee or anything else. With all these odd "negatives," I have to drop my rating to a 4.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Booked a king suit with ocean view. The room with ocean front view was a $100 more. We had a room on the 1st floor which was great but we would have preferred a room on the 2nd floor. It was also close to the pool but we were lucky the people who used it were there just for a swim so it was quiet. The view was great and we could hear the ocean but not as loud as the BW in Brookings OR. As we had a ground floor room we could not leave the balcony door open. The room had a fire place which we thought was odd but it got quite cold so we were glad to light the fire in the evening. The really big minus point of this hotel (hence only 4 stars) was the nearly non-existence of WiFi reception. We had a better reception on the beach than in the hotel. Next time we are in San Simeon we will come again but this time book a room on the ocean front.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Chose a lower priced room for this trip since we were staying for only one night before touring Hearst Castle the next day. Room was clean and nice with no issues or problems. Have stayed in the past in ocean view and ocean front rooms with great experiences in the past as well (fireplaces and the works.) Hotel has a nice moderately priced restaurant attached where we had dinner and breakfast since there aren't a lot of restaurants immediately nearby. Cambria is the nearest alternative venue, also with limited choices, so we kept it convenient. Nice touch is three communal fires at ocean's edge which are lit after sunset where guests can mingle and chat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed one night on a trip up the PCH. Room overlooked the grassy area with fire pits and lulled us to sleep with the sound of the ocean waves. Rooms, while looking a little older, are comfortable. Try getting something on the ocean side.

Highlight of the stay was enjoying the fire pits with travelers from around the world. We sat and roasted marshmallows with several other families. They are a great way to meet other travelers and stay warm by the beach. They light them each night right before sunset.

Room service was a negative. Prices were average but they got the order wrong and forgot to bring glasses for the drinks. Fish and chips were already cold when delivered.

Overall, recommend this property for a stop on the PCH but suggest finding another restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We would have had a lovely view from our room had it not been raining cats and dogs.
The fireplace had simulated wood but that may be what they use in California.
It was not real wood logs. It was stinky of soot after the fire needed better ventillation. It was too cold to keep the window open to air out
Comfortable seating area bed pretty good Clean
Would stay here or recommend to friends.
If they were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Best Western Cavalier in San Simeon is a delightful property. Located on a bluff above the ocean, the beach is easily accessible. The room was spotless and large. The staff at the desk was welcoming and professional. There is a hot tub and heated pool and fitness room that are free for guests. We stayed one night in June. The nights were nippy, but the hotel has three large braziers along the lawn facing the beach. People can sit in chairs and chat and enjoy the view. It’s a friendly place. It’s only a couple miles from the Hearst Castle (not to be missed.) There’s an elephant seal rookery a couple of miles north on Route 1. Free and always open, again, worth a visit. There are actually elephant seals all along that area of the coast. You can pull over and walk over to the bluff and see them. I would highly recommend the Best Western Cavalier. The price was very reasonable and the staff was unusually helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.