We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Motel to your Saves list
Silver Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our room smelled of mold even when we tried to air it out. Nice grassy courtyard. Nice location to the beach. We will not use this motel again. Very high priced for such an old motel, but after all it was the coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    108
    34
    40
See reviews for
67
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The price was excellent and I was satisfied with the cleanliness and amenities. It is however an old motel, with old wall heaters, and old TV's. The wi-fi was fine as was the bedding. I do think it's slightly below my already low standards so next time I'll stay elsewhere. Nothing really wrong, no bugs, no smells, just average average. (No "cont. breakfast" offered).

Room Tip: Evidently some rooms are better than others for w-fi strength - the desk person should be advised wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It was a quiet night, near the beach, within a five minute walk of several casual restaurants. Near Hearst Castle for those visiting. Clean room, little refrig, king bed and working TV, and abundant parking. get a room facing the lawn and you will not hear cars coming and going. For about $60 for two people, what else can we want?

Room Tip: Courtyard room facing the large lawn for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel had bed bugs. I do not have anything more to say. The location was great. It is just in front of the sea. Rest of the service was also decent. But, I would not stay there again if I do get a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalinde, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was a poor hotel, there’s not a lot of positive point other than its close to the sea and Hearst Castle but that’s it,
Our room smelt of wet dogs (found out after pet friendly and a beach !)
it all looked very dated and nothing like the photos on the internet as its mostly worn-out,
we heard insects / bugs (in the room) throughout the night. And the bathroom, sorry I meant small shower room horrid
dreadful place never again
Not to be recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

after driving from Monterrey or so (asking at the Big Sur motels about the prices which are horrendous and not worth it!!), we finally arrived in San Simeon to find a free room, and we were not the only ones.
as numerous others, we decided to stay at this motel because of the price, which was the lowest of the motels at that side of the road.
the room was spacey and looked clean, the bathroom was extrasmall, but we still fit in.
There's free wi-fi, parking is available on site.
There was nothing special about the motel, but it's ok for the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family stayed here one night on 11/22/2012. We found that there are numerous bug bites around our backs, hands, necks and legs. I called them to report this. They said that they never have bugs before. Actually, they are lying. I found that another reviewer, Kathy M, had mentioned the same thing August 20, 2012. Unfortunately, I did not notice this as I booked the room. Their attitudes are really bad, even hanged up my phone. Must avoid this hotel if you do not want to bring bugs home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.