We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Motel to your Saves list
Silver Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
1 review
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stay a couple times a year and love the privacy! Good location and cheap motel prices! It can't be beat! Better then Motel 6! You can walk to resturants and across the highway to the coast or its a short very short ride! Can't wait til our next visit soon!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    118
    136
    40
    45
See reviews for
89
178
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We travelled from Ventura and wanted to take a break before continuing our coastal travel. Chose San Simeon because wanted to see the Elephant seals in the morning and also Hearst Castle. We got a room right at the end of the block, away from the traffic so it was quiet. We had asked for ground floor as we didn't want to drag our luggages up the stairs. The motel rooms are large as we took one with two queen beds. It has a big toilet and the bonus was that there was some heating in the toilet as well so that helps showering in winter.
We didn't had any bad smell in the room or with the beds so overall we are quite pleased with the motel for an overnight stay. I should have listened to the TAs and would have chosen to stay in Cambria if I had knew that they are so close. We went to Cambria for a very nice dinner in the restaurant called Black Cat. One of the best during our two weeks travel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It is not worth saving a few dollars in exchange for comfort and cleanliness. This Motel sucks. No elevator and no A/C. Room smells bad, mattress is uneven and very uncomfortable. Bed sheets smells bad too. You can tell it has not been changed. We didn't have a good night sleep because we were all restless throughout the night. I would not recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Santa Cruz, it's a great half way stop on Hwy 1 when going to San Francisco, the room OK with all the basic needs and the bed was confortable, although the room did lack air-con, there is a pool but it didn't look very clean and the reception didn't open very early

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a king size room with an ocean view. Accept that you're in an old motel near the beach and you shouldn't be disappointed. Bed was super comfy, shower was hot and strong, ammenities bare minimum. Pool/hot tub was revolting with layers of muck and mud on the floor. The two free dinners and breakfasts at the cafe down the street were a great bonus. It really is just 5 minutes from Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: get there friday before everyone else and upgrade to a king room on the corners facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

LOCATION -
Its located on highway 1 in San Simeon.

APPEARANCE -
Looks like the average American roadside motel 

RECEPTION -
Very friendly lady on reception. Easy check in

ROOM -
We stayed in room 246 the room was Basic but big and clean. We had 2 king sized beds A fridge and a microwave. Only problem was the lack of air con

POOL -
It has an indoor pool and hot tub. Small pool but safe for kids and well maintained.

MISC -

There is a cafe/diner next to the motel

OVERALL THOUGHTS -

certainly not the worst motel I have ever stayed in. Clean and comfortable and reasonably priced $88 including tax. I would recommend this motel if driving along highway 1.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We found this motel when driving Hwy 1 in the dark. We picked up a copy of Roomsaver at the local deli and had a large room with queen beds for 55$ ! Pool and Spa are open till 10pm and are perfect, well maintained and clean. Rooms are rather big, only thing missing is an AC. best value in town for an overnight stay

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#11 of 11 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.