We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Motel to your Saves list
Silver Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
1 review
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

We stay a couple times a year and love the privacy! Good location and cheap motel prices! It can't be beat! Better then Motel 6! You can walk to resturants and across the highway to the coast or its a short very short ride! Can't wait til our next visit soon!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    84
    104
    34
    39
See reviews for
65
140
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We travelled from Ventura and wanted to take a break before continuing our coastal travel. Chose San Simeon because wanted to see the Elephant seals in the morning and also Hearst Castle. We got a room right at the end of the block, away from the traffic so it was quiet. We had asked for ground floor as we didn't want to drag our luggages up the stairs. The motel rooms are large as we took one with two queen beds. It has a big toilet and the bonus was that there was some heating in the toilet as well so that helps showering in winter.
We didn't had any bad smell in the room or with the beds so overall we are quite pleased with the motel for an overnight stay. I should have listened to the TAs and would have chosen to stay in Cambria if I had knew that they are so close. We went to Cambria for a very nice dinner in the restaurant called Black Cat. One of the best during our two weeks travel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It is not worth saving a few dollars in exchange for comfort and cleanliness. This Motel sucks. No elevator and no A/C. Room smells bad, mattress is uneven and very uncomfortable. Bed sheets smells bad too. You can tell it has not been changed. We didn't have a good night sleep because we were all restless throughout the night. I would not recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Santa Cruz, it's a great half way stop on Hwy 1 when going to San Francisco, the room OK with all the basic needs and the bed was confortable, although the room did lack air-con, there is a pool but it didn't look very clean and the reception didn't open very early

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a king size room with an ocean view. Accept that you're in an old motel near the beach and you shouldn't be disappointed. Bed was super comfy, shower was hot and strong, ammenities bare minimum. Pool/hot tub was revolting with layers of muck and mud on the floor. The two free dinners and breakfasts at the cafe down the street were a great bonus. It really is just 5 minutes from Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: get there friday before everyone else and upgrade to a king room on the corners facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

LOCATION -
Its located on highway 1 in San Simeon.

APPEARANCE -
Looks like the average American roadside motel 

RECEPTION -
Very friendly lady on reception. Easy check in

ROOM -
We stayed in room 246 the room was Basic but big and clean. We had 2 king sized beds A fridge and a microwave. Only problem was the lack of air con

POOL -
It has an indoor pool and hot tub. Small pool but safe for kids and well maintained.

MISC -

There is a cafe/diner next to the motel

OVERALL THOUGHTS -

certainly not the worst motel I have ever stayed in. Clean and comfortable and reasonably priced $88 including tax. I would recommend this motel if driving along highway 1.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

We found this motel when driving Hwy 1 in the dark. We picked up a copy of Roomsaver at the local deli and had a large room with queen beds for 55$ ! Pool and Spa are open till 10pm and are perfect, well maintained and clean. Rooms are rather big, only thing missing is an AC. best value in town for an overnight stay

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.