We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Hearst Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morgan Massage
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Martinez, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to Hearst Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Before booking this hotel I looked around at the closest, nicest hotels for the best pricing and came across this one. The reviews looked great so I booked it. Driving around the area I was kinda worried it was gonna be crappy due to the outside appearance of some of the other places around. The outside looks decent, but the inside is much nicer! You are greeted right away by a smile at the front and this was my encounter with maybe 3 or more employees here. It was very clean and warm. Very close to the beach and minutes away from hearst castle, which was the point of being in the area. A Mexican restaurant is literally next door and the beach is a nice walk. Bed was comfy as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    270
    140
    50
    22
See reviews for
186
292
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at perhaps five hotels in the Cambria and San Simeon locales over the last five years. This time we booked at The Morgan, on the ocean side of Highway 1 in San Simeon.

We came away impressed. The location is excellent for walking to the coastal plains overlooking the sea to the south of town, and a quick car ride to either Hearst Castle or the pier at San Simeon. Cambria if five minutes by car. We encountered three different clerks during our stay, and all were both helpful and cheerful.

When we checked in the clerk asked about what we were going to be doing -- in order to help us if at all possible. When we mentioned dinner first, her recommendation was our favorite restaurant on Moonstone Beach. She knew what she was talking about!

The rooms are spacious; the bathrooms also. The beds were just the right combination of firmness and plushness. Views however - all around - are parking lot. The hotel is distant enough from the ocean that even west-facing rooms have no real ocean view. (All hotels in San Simeon are located away from the beach.)

The lobby are is tastefully decorated with ample seating. . The complimentary breakfast is served just off the lobby, and unlike other hotels we've encountered there is ample seating for dining guests.

The grounds of the hotel are rather small, with no real outdoor areas to enjoy. That's why we walked to the ocean - a short 5-minute distance. For the room itself, my only complaint would be the lack of a desk -- making using my computer a bit difficult leaning over a small table.

We would return. This is not a hotel where you would spend a great deal of time, but that should be the case for anyone visiting the many sights and attractions of this area. The time you do spend there is comfortable and warm.

Room Tip: Not that big a deal -- only first or second floor choices -- whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfortable and the room clean. This hotel is very wen and tired looking. The continental breakfast was diml so e went to Cambria for breakfast instead. You can hear the waves but no view since there are homes between the hotel and the cliff like beach. The best western might be a better choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were looking for a nice place near the beach in the Cambria-area for a one-night get-away--and the internet took us to San Simeon, very convenient to Hearst castle, less than 5 miles north of Cambria. When the GPS told us we were close, we were a bit worried when the nearby "motels" looked a bit run-down, but the Morgan Hotel turned out to be a GEM of a find. You will notice the upscale feel as soon as you walk in. The rooms were modern, spacious and tastefully decorated -- and I LOVED the fireplace in the room! The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had amazing fresh-baked pastries and home-made bagels. And the end of the block had easy, free parking at the trail head of a BEAUTIFUL walk on the beach! It was everything I had hoped for...with a very reasonable price. We plan to make it a regular get-away spot.

Room Tip: Ask about the fireplace (not all rooms have them). The description says some rooms have ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed the night after visiting Hearst Castle. The staff was very helpful in carrying luggage and making suggestions for dinner. There is no elevator, so we had a first floor room. Very nice adaptation for an ADA room, although not completely accessible bathroom. Lovely, ample breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It is glad to see the night desk person handed me my "room key" - not a "key-card", the last time I use one was 1980's! Yes, when I want to open that hotel room doom I want it unlock and open as I command it. Ha! :-)
Quite little place with (using) Julia Morgan's "Morgan" as the name of the hotel.
Do need to up grade their sink in our room (#256), kind of cracks at the drain, other then that quite comfortable for the price.
They should buy off the properties between them and the beach and turn it into a open area so guest can use and view the beautiful ocean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect for visiting Hearst castle, we stayed here because it looked nicer than the other 'motels' nearby and the rooms were very spacious. The price was reasonable and the staff were very friendly and happy to give advice for our day ahead. It would be nice if the pool was heated (too cold to use in January) and it would be awesome if they invested in a hot tub as well. The breakfast was nice and fresh but it would be better to have more of a selection beyond cereal, boiled eggs and pastries/cupcakes. Would we stay again...yes

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.