We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but tired building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good location but tired building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfortable and the room clean. This hotel is very wen and tired looking. The continental breakfast was diml so e went to Cambria for breakfast instead. You can hear the waves but no view since there are homes between the hotel and the cliff like beach. The best western might be a better choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    295
    156
    51
    23
See reviews for
207
322
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were looking for a nice place near the beach in the Cambria-area for a one-night get-away--and the internet took us to San Simeon, very convenient to Hearst castle, less than 5 miles north of Cambria. When the GPS told us we were close, we were a bit worried when the nearby "motels" looked a bit run-down, but the Morgan Hotel turned out to be a GEM of a find. You will notice the upscale feel as soon as you walk in. The rooms were modern, spacious and tastefully decorated -- and I LOVED the fireplace in the room! The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had amazing fresh-baked pastries and home-made bagels. And the end of the block had easy, free parking at the trail head of a BEAUTIFUL walk on the beach! It was everything I had hoped for...with a very reasonable price. We plan to make it a regular get-away spot.

Room Tip: Ask about the fireplace (not all rooms have them). The description says some rooms have ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed the night after visiting Hearst Castle. The staff was very helpful in carrying luggage and making suggestions for dinner. There is no elevator, so we had a first floor room. Very nice adaptation for an ADA room, although not completely accessible bathroom. Lovely, ample breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It is glad to see the night desk person handed me my "room key" - not a "key-card", the last time I use one was 1980's! Yes, when I want to open that hotel room doom I want it unlock and open as I command it. Ha! :-)
Quite little place with (using) Julia Morgan's "Morgan" as the name of the hotel.
Do need to up grade their sink in our room (#256), kind of cracks at the drain, other then that quite comfortable for the price.
They should buy off the properties between them and the beach and turn it into a open area so guest can use and view the beautiful ocean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect for visiting Hearst castle, we stayed here because it looked nicer than the other 'motels' nearby and the rooms were very spacious. The price was reasonable and the staff were very friendly and happy to give advice for our day ahead. It would be nice if the pool was heated (too cold to use in January) and it would be awesome if they invested in a hot tub as well. The breakfast was nice and fresh but it would be better to have more of a selection beyond cereal, boiled eggs and pastries/cupcakes. Would we stay again...yes

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile


I’m relatively confident that San Simeon exists only because it sits near the entry to Hearst Castle. If Hearst castle disappeared than San Simeon would follow suit. For us, it was a logical place to stop on our trek down the PCH to LA. It also meant that we could take our time at Hearst. A good thing as it was surprisingly impressive. Genuinely worth a visit.

San Simeon is literally three or four hotels and an unusual little corner store. It was kind of like arriving at the end of the earth which was a bit of a shock after the buzz of San Fran. It’s one of those places where you know you’ll end up eating in any overpriced hotel restaurant and that’s all there is to it. You need to grin and suck it up.

The Morgan is quite clearly a stopover hotel as I can’t imagine anyone would stay in San Simeon for more than a night. And. As a stopover hotel it performs its function well.

The hotel is divided into two wings which is a little odd. We were in the second wing which is several hundred metres from the main hotel. The room itself was a pleasant surprise and came complete with a gas fireplace. It also had several nice little touches such as reading material and perhaps the only hotel mini-bar I’ve ever seen that had reasonable prices. Everything was well presented and the bed was super comfy. Whilst it was more than adequate I’m sure the owners know that the bathrooms just have to go. They really bring the place down. Super clean but straight out of 1974.

The rate included continental breakfast and this can’t help but generate goodwill. Nothing better than a free breakfast even if it was a tad on the basic side.

It is true that the Best Western next door looked like a nicer property but, if you are only stopping overnight, then the Morgan is more than fine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent visit to The Morgan and San Simeon. Our beautiful rustic and rural location is certainly a big change from the big cities of San Francisco and LA.

You are correct Hearst Castle is one of the main draws to the area. Many people visit for the natural beauty of the area, outdoor sports as well as visiting the Paso Robles Wine Country.

I am pleased to say that we will be doing a bathroom re-model over the next couple of months; we will be bringing those bathroom sinks and vanities into the 21st century!
Thank you again for your review!

Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is about halfway between wine country and LA on route 1, and very close to Hearst Castle. The rooms were quite spacious and really nice; ours included a gas fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, the shower hot and strong, and the staff excellent and helpful; the receptionist even helped me print out some directions using her computer at the front desk! The complimentary breakfast was fine. The WiFi access was free, but very slow (the hotel apologizes for that), as the area is remote. It is a short walk from the ocean, and it is pleasant to walk there in the early evening and morning. And the cost was very modest!

Room Tip: No elevator, so rooms on the second floor require you to carry your bags up 16 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.