We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Hearst castle and nicer than a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Close to Hearst castle and nicer than a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect for visiting Hearst castle, we stayed here because it looked nicer than the other 'motels' nearby and the rooms were very spacious. The price was reasonable and the staff were very friendly and happy to give advice for our day ahead. It would be nice if the pool was heated (too cold to use in January) and it would be awesome if they invested in a hot tub as well. The breakfast was nice and fresh but it would be better to have more of a selection beyond cereal, boiled eggs and pastries/cupcakes. Would we stay again...yes

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    280
    150
    50
    22
See reviews for
192
308
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile


I’m relatively confident that San Simeon exists only because it sits near the entry to Hearst Castle. If Hearst castle disappeared than San Simeon would follow suit. For us, it was a logical place to stop on our trek down the PCH to LA. It also meant that we could take our time at Hearst. A good thing as it was surprisingly impressive. Genuinely worth a visit.

San Simeon is literally three or four hotels and an unusual little corner store. It was kind of like arriving at the end of the earth which was a bit of a shock after the buzz of San Fran. It’s one of those places where you know you’ll end up eating in any overpriced hotel restaurant and that’s all there is to it. You need to grin and suck it up.

The Morgan is quite clearly a stopover hotel as I can’t imagine anyone would stay in San Simeon for more than a night. And. As a stopover hotel it performs its function well.

The hotel is divided into two wings which is a little odd. We were in the second wing which is several hundred metres from the main hotel. The room itself was a pleasant surprise and came complete with a gas fireplace. It also had several nice little touches such as reading material and perhaps the only hotel mini-bar I’ve ever seen that had reasonable prices. Everything was well presented and the bed was super comfy. Whilst it was more than adequate I’m sure the owners know that the bathrooms just have to go. They really bring the place down. Super clean but straight out of 1974.

The rate included continental breakfast and this can’t help but generate goodwill. Nothing better than a free breakfast even if it was a tad on the basic side.

It is true that the Best Western next door looked like a nicer property but, if you are only stopping overnight, then the Morgan is more than fine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent visit to The Morgan and San Simeon. Our beautiful rustic and rural location is certainly a big change from the big cities of San Francisco and LA.

You are correct Hearst Castle is one of the main draws to the area. Many people visit for the natural beauty of the area, outdoor sports as well as visiting the Paso Robles Wine Country.

I am pleased to say that we will be doing a bathroom re-model over the next couple of months; we will be bringing those bathroom sinks and vanities into the 21st century!
Thank you again for your review!

Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is about halfway between wine country and LA on route 1, and very close to Hearst Castle. The rooms were quite spacious and really nice; ours included a gas fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, the shower hot and strong, and the staff excellent and helpful; the receptionist even helped me print out some directions using her computer at the front desk! The complimentary breakfast was fine. The WiFi access was free, but very slow (the hotel apologizes for that), as the area is remote. It is a short walk from the ocean, and it is pleasant to walk there in the early evening and morning. And the cost was very modest!

Room Tip: No elevator, so rooms on the second floor require you to carry your bags up 16 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to San Jose so we could visit Hearst Castle. I checked the hotel out on trip advisor and thought it looked good for the price! We arrived late afternoon and were given our key to a ground floor room just off reception. The room was enormous, the bed huge, the bathroom was great! There was a fridge and coffee machine in the room. We drove to Hearst Castle to book a tour for the next morning and then we returned to The Morgan and were recommended to eat at the Cavalier restaurant along the road. Good choice, the food was excellent. We returned to the hotel and went to bed early as we had an early start in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast started at 7am (included in the room price) it was a continental breakfast, there was a good choice of cereal, yoghurt, toast, muffins and waffles if you wanted to make them and fruit. Coffee was good and there was hot tea for my husband. I would recommend this hotel for a short break. The pool looked great but we did not stay long enough to use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

No air conditioning. Had to leave window open that opened up to first floor parking lot. When I requested a second floor room I was told I would be charged for a suite. Not cool. Should be able to change to a room on another floor where you feel safe.

Very nice continental breakfast.

If I had it to do over, we would have stayed in morrow bay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Liz S.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay at The Morgan. I am please that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast while you were here.

I do apologize that you were not comfortable with your room. We have several different room types that are at different rates, however, I apologize that you were not offered a complimentary upgrade if we had rooms available. Although we are located in an very safe rural community, we never want our guests to feel unsafe or uncomfortable with their room.

Your recommendation of Morro Bay as an alternative destination is another wonderful location, Morro Bay is a lovely town 25 miles to the South of San Simeon.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed with husband and kids overnight on way to San Diego... Room was good size and the fire was a nice touch but wish we turned it off earlier as we roasted half the night. The lighting seems very dim, would have been nice to have more lights. Breakfast was simple but a good start to the day. Great staff @ reception. If you have a room on the second floor you will have to carry your bags up the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely/Interesting room/common area design, gas fireplace, clean, good continental breakfast, free, included hard-boiled eggs … people were playing board games when we arrived. Looks like a nice place to stay a couple days in order to visit the Hearst Castle and surrounding area. Inexpensive.

Room Tip: Second floor so you can open the windows for fresh "sleeping" air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.