We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henderson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the better looking hotels/motels in the area, I thought a room would be too pricey but we stopped in anyway at about 5:30 at night and got a choice of rooms. We took downstairs. The front desk was very helpful and discounted our room when we discovered the fireplace didn't work. I see someone commented about the pool looking as if it had been abandoned but it was clean and well lit. I'm not sure a guest would really need it when you've got the beach and Hearst castle right there. A very quiet, comfy place, besutifully decorated and maintained.

Room Tip: No elevators to the second floor so you older folk choose a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    317
    165
    59
    28
See reviews for
226
346
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thankyou to all the staff at The Morgan. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel is stunning and to go into the beautiful KING room with real glasses and real glass cups to make yor tea or coffee. The room has just georgous decor with everything spotless.The staff bend over backwards to help with anything and terrific restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is great as well. Well done The Morgan. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a king room. We were on main road side but there was no noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no airconditioning, but it is not needed as there is a beautiful sea breeze.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very happy with our 2 night stay at The Morgan. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly; the room was large, clean and inviting (with a fireplace too); breakfast was good though not exceptional; and the location was superb! Not only is this hotel close to the Hearst Castle, it is also quite close (a few easy-to-drive miles) to the elephant seal rookery! We were able to visit the rookery 3 times (morning was definitely the BEST time for photographic lighting and fewer people). The staff has done a beautiful job selecting paint colors and room furnishings; it is also very clean. Our room faced the main road, so you could hear the traffic ~ though it was not objectionable. After leaving a nightmare stay at another hotel in Monterey, we thought we died and went to heaven when we checked into The Morgan.

One suggestion I would make to the hotel is to begin the continental breakfast service at 7 am (rather than 7:30). The first movie at the Hearst Castle begins at 8:15 am. It is essential that visitors wishing to see the movie arrive at their visitor's center by 8:00am. We had to eat on the run so that we could see the movie at 8:15 and then begin our 3 previously paid-for tours.

I would happily stay at The Morgan again!

Room Tip: A room away from the main street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

the staff is not helpful, no elevator (or help) to take you to the first floor.
the swimming pool, in front of the lobby looks abandoned.
Breakfast is ok .
Only 10 minutes drive to Hearst Castle.
Nice mexican restaurant a few steps away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on first floor with sea view (if you can carry your suitcases). We had a renovated da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The lobby looks nice, and some rooms do have a view, but the following is a review for a room I got that faced the PCH (booked through Hotwire).

My key points:
- rooms are, but bathroom was very dark, dingy, and dated. Definitely needed a makeover.
- with the windows shut, it was still possible to hear cars outside. I woke up in the morning with sounds of cars joining the PCH from all the lodging next to The Morgan
- the hotel is split into two buildings. The pool is in the main building. It's about 2-3 minutes walk outside between the two. Not great in winter if using pool or for breakfast.
- the heating/cooling control didn't work in the room. I was too tired so just went to sleep, and woke up freezing cold
- breakfast was ok. Pastries were nice, the ice cold hard boiled egg not so much. Would have been nice to have a few slices of cheese or ham.
- night receptionist was not friendly at all and seemed like she was bothered checking guests in. The morning receptionist was very cheerful and friendly. So it's a specific staff issue here.
- there's a Mexican restaurant right next to the hotel, which is convenient
- free wifi was good and acceptably fast

Would I stay here again? Probably not - will give one of the others a try on that strip of San Simeon. Unless it was cheap, like $50 a night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear London Insider,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comprehensive review from your recent stay at The Morgan. I am sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations. I am disappointed that our staff did not make you feel welcomed at check in. May I inquire what your date of arrival was? (gm@hotel-morgan.com) I would like to make the necessary adjustments to our staff. I am very pleased that our morning staff greeted you with enthusiasm!
I apologize that the heating control was not in working order and I am sorry if you spent an uncomfortable and cold night. I wish we could have gotten that repaired for your during your stay so you could have been more comfortable.
Thank you for all your valuable feedback!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 as we were due to visit Hearst Castle as part of our road trip.
Our main reason for choosing this hotel is that we stayed here 3 years ago on another road trip and my wife was happy with the hotel the first time so had no hesitation saying she wanted to return as the rooms were large, clean and most importantly for her, had comfortable beds.
The continental breakfast seemed to have a slightly smaller selection of items to choose from but is still more than adequate if you want a light breakfast.
The Morgan doesn't have restaurant and all the ones nearby close quite early so make sure you've checked in by early evening. On our previous trip we tried the Mexican restaurant next door but it had stopped serving, so dined at the Sunrise Restaurant in the Motel 6 across the road. The food there is reasonably priced and good quality and so we decided to go back
and were not disappointed. We did notice several people arrive around 9pm only to be told they were closed so be aware restaurants close early in San Simeon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Best hotel of San Simeon.
Pool is cute.
Rooms are not that big, but its enough, it feels safe and cosy.
Bathroom is clean, enough towels, good shampoo, conditionner.
We arrived late and the front desk was really nice spoke a bit with us about our road trip etc...
The breakfast was very good even if the room was not fitting all of them :), futhermore there is free newspaper .

I will definitely stay there again if I ll go back there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.